PDA

View Full Version : Would you get Adobe Photoshop if available?

synergynova
March 27th, 2007, 01:09 PM
Hi,

I was just wondering how many Ubuntu/Linux users would get Adobe Photoshop if it were available as a native distro for Ubuntu. Just to clarify, I'm talking about a version you would still have to pay for. I don't think it would be feasible to ask for a free version of Photoshop to be available.

I would certainly get it as I find the GIMP challenging to adapt to having used Photoshop for around 15 years now and have many .psd's that don't open correctly in the GIMP.

Don't get me wrong though, I'm loving Ubuntu and have used since 5.10 (Breezy Badger). I'm now running Edgy and looking forward to Fiesty.

Anyway, thoughts?

All the best
Woody

lyceum
March 27th, 2007, 01:38 PM
As much as I want to say no, as an artist I fear that I may not have a choise as employers choose the programs and if I am going to get good at something I need to be able to practice. I would rather the GIMP got better or Photoshop opened their code but...

I do want to say that I am not a huge fan of Photoshop. My wife swears by it, but she uses a Mac, so go figure ;) Before using open source I had Photo Editor Pro, which is an amaizing program and VERY user friendly. I fear that is something GIMP and Photshop may never get right.

hikaricore
March 27th, 2007, 04:47 PM
Hi,
having used Photoshop for around 15 years now and have many .psd's that don't open correctly in the GIMP.

Could be because they keep adding useless @$^# and changing their psd format with each release. At any rate just run PS in wine or with virtualbox/vmware, I don't see the point of a native release, it'll never happen.

rossdh
March 27th, 2007, 04:49 PM