PDA

View Full Version : Subversion 1.4.3 package

gabrielsaldana
March 9th, 2007, 04:34 AM
I use Subclipse to work with svn from my Eclipse IDE. I recently upgraded to subclipse 1.2 and now my repositories said that my svn client was too old.

So this brings me to the necesity of upgrading subversion, but given that on the repositories there is only version 1.3.2, I had to compile from source.

I made a package, but I'm a total newbie in this subject. I can't guarantee that it will work for you (help on this topic would be very well appreciated).

http://www.nethazard.net/subversion/subversion_1.4.3-1_i386.deb

So here I'll give you the instructions to get 1.4.3 from source in case my package didn't work.

Get subversion source:

wget http://subversion.tigris.org/downloads/subversion-1.4.3.tar.gz
wget http://subversion.tigris.org/downloads/subversion-deps-1.4.3.tar.gz
and extract the files:

tar xvzf subversion-1.4.3.tar.gz
tar xvzf subversion-deps-1.4.3.tar.gz
Okay, now to the building process...

First, make sure you have all development tools

sudo aptitude install build-essential
then install some dependencies

sudo aptitude install libapr1 libapr1-dev libaprutil1 libaprutil1-dev

sudo apt-get install libneon25 libneon25-dev

sudo apt-get install libdb4.3 libdb4.3-dev db4.3-util libdb4.3++c2 libdb4.3++-dev

sudo apt-get install checkinstall auto-apt
Finally the compiling steps to build the package and install it:

auto-apt run ./configure --with-ssl --with-apr=/usr/bin/apr-config --with-apr-util=/usr/bin/apu-config

make

sudo checkinstall
and you are done.

roboguy
March 21st, 2007, 11:12 PM
If you are an amd64 user you might find the following helpful http://jamesfitzsimons.blogspot.com/2007/03/subversion-143-on-ubuntu-edgy-amd64.html

andrewroth
April 3rd, 2007, 07:32 PM