PDA

View Full Version : Netbeans Programming Book

nick.inspiron6400
March 5th, 2007, 03:10 PM
Hi,

Does anyone know a good book that will teach me both Java and NetBeans. I have no programming experience, so this book will have to be for the beginner.

Thanks,

Nick.

pmasiar
March 5th, 2007, 03:27 PM
Does anyone know a good book that will teach me both Java and NetBeans. I have no programming experience, so this book will have to be for the beginner.

As i just explained in this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=376413), IMHO java is not good language for beginner - especially not good for self-learner. Try Python instead, when you will have better feel about programming, learn java or C++ or C# or whatever you need for job/carieer/task in hand.

To start with Python: http://learnpydia.pbwiki.com/HowToStart

That said, best book to learn Java IMHO is "Headfirst Java".

laxmanb
March 5th, 2007, 05:22 PM
Don't get too intimidated about Java...

http://www.netbeans.org/kb/articles/books.html

Has all the books that teach Java with Netbeans & links to the publisher/Amazon... there'll be reviews at Amazon/other online stores, so do some research before you buy...

Best of Luck!!

laxmanb
March 5th, 2007, 05:25 PM
This one has gr8 reviews:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1584504269/104-8016468-2951926?v=glance&n=283155

rekahsoft
March 5th, 2007, 09:07 PM
As i just explained in this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=376413), IMHO java is not good language for beginner - especially not good for self-learner. Try Python instead, when you will have better feel about programming, learn java or C++ or C# or whatever you need for job/carieer/task in hand.

To start with Python: http://learnpydia.pbwiki.com/HowToStart

That said, best book to learn Java IMHO is "Headfirst Java".

Java was my first language and i taught my self...i guess it depends on the person :D

kinson
March 6th, 2007, 02:13 AM