PDA

View Full Version : Automatix? Is it a good thing?

simonn
March 2nd, 2007, 08:10 AM
I have been using linux for a few years as my main OS at home, a significant while before Ubuntu existed at any rate.

I used to answer questions here semi-regularily, but have got a bit bored of answering mainly the same questions over and over.

However, I have/had some time to kill and decided to have a read and maybe answer some questions anbd was shocked to notice how many answers were like this:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=2234737&postcount=6

Don't try to do it yourself, just get automatix.

I am bound to be called a linux zealot for this, but how is someone going to learn if they just use tools like Automatix?

Possibly add a new repository, installing a package and possibly creating a symlink is hardly super villian stuff.

Same with the codecs.

Sure, it may be a little wierd for a newbie, but hey they are a newbie, things are going to be weird and frustrating for a little while.

Thoughts? Does automatix help users remain ignorant? Is this a good thing? Have I become an unintentional linux zealot :)?

ubuntu27
March 2nd, 2007, 08:20 AM
I personally think that Automatix and easy Ubuntu should be targeted towards user who are more experienced, for those who just want to save time...

New users should learn how to use their new OS.
And the only way to learn is by doing it themselves.

karellen
March 2nd, 2007, 09:07 AM
I don't know...I use apt-get & aptitude. However, I think that most of the user want to use an os, not to learn it. as long as they can click something on the screen and voila, music/video playback is here, they don't care...If for them the pc is just a tool, not a purpose by itself, why bother? :D

kelbizzle
March 2nd, 2007, 11:21 AM
I personally think that Automatix and easy Ubuntu should be targeted towards user who are more experienced, for those who just want to save time...