PDA

View Full Version : Objective C

boon utnubu
February 27th, 2007, 06:13 PM
Hello all,

First of all I'm new to Ubuntu and I must say that I'm really, really impressed. Definately the best Linux I've ever had the pleasure of running.

Right, to me question. By trade I'm a developer. When developing on Wintendo I code in C# (not my choice but it's actually not a bad language - IMHO). For what little OS X programming I do I use Objective C and the Cocoa framework.

Now, I know I'm probably in the minority here but I actually really like and enjoy developing in Objective C. I know I can code in Objective C on Ubuntu (as I've done some mucking about) but could I use it for real projects in the real world. Yeah I know the Mono framework is starting to come into it's own and we're seeing more and more apps written using that platform but I'd rather use Obj C over C# if I could. I was just wondering if I could Obj C on Ubuntu for something in the real world? I vaguely remember something called Swarm (not sure if that's dead now).

Basically I want to develop on Ubuntu in Objective C and develop something worthwhile, not something that's just going to print out Hello World and then iterate through an array of integers. Oh, by the way, me and C++ have never gotten on :confused:

Any thoughts or suggestions would be very much appreciated and thanks for reading.

:popcorn:

Note360
February 27th, 2007, 09:57 PM
Obj-C looks pretty cool, when I was on OS X I was discouraged from it cause I didnt know C, now I know some C and would like to try it out. However, from what I gather it inst the best on Linux. I think you can use the C GTK bindings inside of Obj-C. I think their is somethign called Cocotron, but I am not sure if it works in Linux. C# is really nice on Linux, did you try looking into Python or Ruby?

lnostdal
February 27th, 2007, 10:05 PM
edit: turns out this post doesn't serve much purpose

winch
February 28th, 2007, 12:27 AM