PDA

View Full Version : Frozen throne wine/cedega help with install/optimization

thegrimgod
February 2nd, 2007, 07:46 AM
Hi , i am very new to linux , using ubuntu edgy, im a big w3 frozen throne gamer , and i need to install the game in ubuntu.
I already tried cedega ,but i am dissapointed with the lag...not internet lag...i have a GeForce fx 5200 128 mb of video memory , installed nvidia drivers (but i might have not optimized my xorg.conf from lack of knowledge) , amd 650 MHz and 385768 kB RAM
I need help with installing wine(again mainly i have no clue what im doing) , or help with configuring cedega (i dont know any tricks , i just install)
In any case i read forums dealing with this wine/cedega issue , and i will be gratefull for any help(again when u explain i just installed linux , not 3 days ago)
BTW: played this game under windows(==devil) , had no problems , and i would like to go on and play this game under this very nice os

pay
February 2nd, 2007, 08:05 AM
Try
cedega war3.exe -opengl

thegrimgod
February 2nd, 2007, 10:12 PM
ty dude , it defenitly works much better, am i missing a configuration , because when i start it from the gui of cedega it doesnt work as good, in any case i still need some more sugestions ,its still not up to the performance im used too , much better than bf tho

thegrimgod
February 3rd, 2007, 07:04 AM
Ok ,so wine is much better than cedega from what i have tested
This is basicly what i did :
1.added to synaptic repos
http://wine.sourceforge.net/apt/ binary/
http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt edgy main
downloaded wine using synaptic -- i have version wine-0.9.30, changed in winecfg to windows xp