PDA

View Full Version : Getting nothing but errors when trying to compile C++ program

Scooter7
January 30th, 2007, 07:18 AM
Hi, I'm new to C++ programming and Ubuntu/Linux, and was trying to compile this code from a tutorial:

include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
cout<<"HEY, you, I'm alive! Oh, and Hello World!\n";
cin.get();

return 1;
}

And I got these errors:

cd '/home/scooter7/C++_Projects/test' && WANT_AUTOCONF_2_5="1" WANT_AUTOMAKE_1_6="1" make -f Makefile.cvs && mkdir '/home/scooter7/C++_Projects/test/debug' && cd '/home/scooter7/C++_Projects/test/debug' && CXXFLAGS="-O0 -g3" "/home/scooter7/C++_Projects/test/configure" --enable-debug=full && cd '/home/scooter7/C++_Projects/test/debug' && WANT_AUTOCONF_2_5="1" WANT_AUTOMAKE_1_6="1" make -k
aclocal
make: aclocal: Command not found
make: *** [all] Error 127
*** Exited with status: 2 ***

I have tried compiling this in both KDevelop and gcc, and get the same results. The strange thing is I have successfully compiled that exact code in Windows using Dev-C++ (by the way, is that available for Linux somewhere? On the website (www.bloodshed.net) it says it is, but I can't find it anywhere to download...). Why is this? I'm using Ubuntu 6.10 with both GNOME and KDE. Also, I have tried KDevelop and gcc in both environments with the same (unsuccessful) results.

phossal
January 30th, 2007, 07:25 AM
#include <iostream>

int main()
{
std::cout<<"HEY, you, I'm alive! Oh, and Hello World!\n";
std::cin.get();

return 1;
};

[edit] Complied with g++. You need a newline following the main method (in most cases). I removed the name space declaration because (as the experts will tell you) it's usually not a good idea. And I threw in the preceding pound sign for the include statement.

Scooter7
January 30th, 2007, 07:30 AM
Thank you, I tried that code but I got more errors, similar to the earlier ones: