PDA

View Full Version : Xubuntu-How to screenshots



Real Newbie
January 18th, 2007, 04:30 AM
I have installed Xbuntu and turned on the app that looks like a camera. It will take screenshots and store them as a .png file. How do I paste that in the forums? I have some questions and it would make it a lot easier to post screenshots than describe what I am seeing.

I have tried the insert image icon, but it is looking for an http address.

Thanks,
Noob

CCBalla10
January 18th, 2007, 04:52 AM
Hello real newbie....use www.imageshack.us to upload your pics to their website...then make a post with whatever you want to say and click the little box that looks like a picture of a mountain range and sun...by where you change the font size. Then enter the webaddress for the picture!

aysiu
January 18th, 2007, 04:57 AM
Edit your post.

Click Go Advanced

Scroll down to Additional Options and select Manage Attachments

Click Browse, find the file you want to upload and then click Upload

Finally, once it's finished uploading, go back to the main screen and select Submit Reply

By the way, I've moved this to a more appropriate forum.

CCBalla10
January 18th, 2007, 05:00 AM
thank u

DougieFresh4U
January 18th, 2007, 05:00 AM
I use Xubuntu also and had same questions. I installed Ksnapshot from Add/Remove --Applications>Other>add/remove. Once you have thatwhen you have whatever on your desktop you want screen shot of, go to Applications>Graphics and you'll see Ksnapshot and click it and the rest is pretty self explain.(click save to) and it will make pngor whatever it'called. Then when you are making your thread, scroll down to manage attatchments and click it and on top of screen that pops up click browse at first line and when window opens scroll down to screenshot 1 or 2 or what ever one it saved that you took and click that . when it goes in the first line scroll down to where it says upload and click wait till says done then close and then submit your thread. Sorry for sloppy instructions but just trying to spell it out like I like things explained to me. Any more questions please post them. Hope this helps,Dougie:) :)

aysiu
January 18th, 2007, 05:02 AM
Looking forward to seeing your support thread with an attached screenshot.

Real Newbie
January 18th, 2007, 07:54 PM
I am having a little trouble understanding the instructiions.


Edit your post.

Click Go Advanced

Scroll down to Additional Options and select Manage Attachments

Click Browse, find the file you want to upload and then click Upload

Finally, once it's finished uploading, go back to the main screen and select Submit Reply

The only >GO command that see is in the firefox browser and there is no advanced command after that..
I assume that the >GO or >GO ADVANCED command that you refer to is in the forum commands. I just don't see it.

Help!

Thanks,
Noob

aysiu
January 18th, 2007, 10:13 PM
You have to first click the Edit button for your post.

It has nothing to do with the Firefox browser. Look away from the toolbar. Look at your actual post in the actual forums.

See the attached screenshot for details.

Real Newbie
January 18th, 2007, 10:55 PM
Got it. Thanks for the help.

One more question. My screen shots are to large to upload. How do I make them small enough to get under the size limit?

Thx for all of the help,
Noob

aysiu
January 18th, 2007, 10:57 PM
Got it. Thanks for the help.

One more question. My screen shots are to large to upload. How do I make them small enough to get under the size limit?

Thx for all of the help,
Noob
Open them with GIMP and then go to Image and select Scale Image

kerry_s
January 18th, 2007, 11:42 PM
Open them with GIMP and then go to Image and select Scale Image

You can also use the gimp to take screenshots it does alot better job. The xfce4-screenshoot-plugin does not compress the image that good. also it's better to use jpg instead.Try the exact same shoot with gimp(file>acquire>screenshot) and look at the size in properties(right click image) you will see the gimp's is much smaller.

I use scrot to do mine, it works the best for me. i'll usally just create a launcher with the settings i want. it has great compression i can even do my whole dual screen(2560x1024) and still have room to spare.

Real Newbie
January 18th, 2007, 11:54 PM
Thank You So Much!!

I wish everything that I am learning in LINUX was this easy. You were clear and patient, I appreicate it.

Thanks,
Noob

kerry_s
January 19th, 2007, 01:42 AM
I forgot here are all the launch commands i use just in case you want to install scrot and create your own screenshot launcher.

ScreenShot = scrot %T.jpg <takes whole screen

Select = scrot -s -b %T.jpg <allows you to select and you can also drag select to just do a square area

Wait 5 = scrot -d 5 %T.jpg < Waits 5 seconds before grabing the whole screen

The drag select is the one i use often you just click select then hold left mouse click and drag the box to the size you want. here's a shot useing the 5 sec. delay and select at the same time->

bonzodog
January 19th, 2007, 05:31 PM
I find the delay in the scrot thing useful for displaying menus for screenshots.

sr40150
November 23rd, 2009, 06:31 PM
hello there
my suggestion:

First of all install :
$sudo aptitude install gnome-screenshot or sudo apt-get install gnome-screenshot

in XFCE, system settings > keyboard > shortcuts
Add new shortcut;
command: gnome-screenshot
key: Print button

that's all :]

http://www.qtl.co.il/img/copy.pnghttp://www.google.com/favicon.ico (http://www.google.com/search?q=aptitude)http://www.babylon.com/favicon.icohttp://www.qtl.co.il/img/copy.pnghttp://www.google.com/favicon.ico (http://www.google.com/search?q=%27scrot%27%20package,%20which%20is%20a%2 0command%20line%20screen%20capture%20utility%20)ht tp://www.babylon.com/favicon.ico

cariboo907
November 23rd, 2009, 06:34 PM
This thread is just about 3 years old. Closed