PDA

View Full Version : (Admins)A question for whomever maintains this website

Sweet Spot
January 15th, 2007, 10:00 PM
I'd really appreciate it if any of the admins, or someone whom maintains this website could contact me with the answer to this question:

I'm also an admin of a fairly popular site, and would like to add the search function which is featured here on my site. Of course we have a basic search tool, with advanced options, but the one here with the drop-down list is just fantastic, and would make life a lot easier for our forum members.

As to why I posed this question here rather than PM'ing someone, I figured that this info might serve others better if it were readily available. I was just about to visit the vB forums to get the answer, but since I frequent this forum, and the feature is used here, I thought it might be just as effective.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Doug

matthew
January 15th, 2007, 10:06 PM
Hi, Doug,

ubuntu-geek is the one who takes care of that stuff. I'll send him a PM to read this thread.

smartbei
January 15th, 2007, 10:06 PM
Question: Is your site run on vBulletin as well? (I am obviously not on of the admins)

Sweet Spot
January 15th, 2007, 10:22 PM
Hi, Doug,

ubuntu-geek is the one who takes care of that stuff. I'll send him a PM to read this thread.

Thank you Matthew, I really appreciate it.

Question: Is your site run on vBulletin as well? (I am obviously not on of the admins)

Yes sir/M'am. The very same including version number.

ubuntu-geek
January 15th, 2007, 10:22 PM
The basic search template we use here are the default vbulletin ones. However, we gutted the backend out (ie. removed the vbulletin search stuff) and we use sphinxsearch.com for most searches.

ubuntu-geek
January 15th, 2007, 10:23 PM
What is your site and i'll take a look. What are you looking to accomplish?

Sweet Spot
January 15th, 2007, 10:26 PM