PDA

View Full Version : Working on a usplash for Ubuntu-Ohio

zerhacke
January 12th, 2007, 06:28 PM
I've made no real progress other than putting together an image for it, but I'm at work trying to put together a custom usplash for the Ubuntu-Ohio group. I have the C source and makefile tonic on this forum used to create his Peace usplash, so now I'm basically reverse engineering how he did it. I think it's just a matter of making images for different resolutions.

I gotta say it, I'm no programmer so I really don't know what I'm doing. I'm going to contact tonic and ask him for a step by step.

My work so far can be found at http://creaturefeature.darkness.com/Ubuntu-Ohio but you gotta remember, I have figured out nothing yet.

zerhacke
January 12th, 2007, 07:05 PM
Eureka! I have done it!

What I did was went to the terminal and apt-get source usplash-theme-ubuntu. This gave me a tar.gz file in my home folder. I unzipped the archive into its own folder, went in to the folder, and started editing images. There's several images to edit all of different resolutions so this took some time.

Since there's a makefile in that archive I decided to see if it would make. It would not. I figured out that I was missing some programs needed to compile a usplash.

You will need the following packages: build-essential, usplash-dev

Once I had those packages I ran the makefile again and presto, usplash.so object!

To install:

sudo cp usplash-theme-ubuntu-ohio-us.so /usr/lib/usplash/usplash-theme-ubuntu-ohio-us.so
sudo ln -sf /usr/lib/usplash/usplash-theme-ubuntu-ohio-us.so /usr/lib/usplash/usplash-artwork.so
sudo update-initramfs -u

In the terminal, of course.

You can get a pre-compiled usplash by going to http://creaturefeature.darkness.com/Ubuntu-Ohio/

jpeddicord
January 13th, 2007, 01:53 AM
It looks like a nice usplash, however remember that if you want it to be distributed you will have to separate the Ubuntu logo and the flag.