PDA

View Full Version : PWscf, ABINIT installation on Ubuntu -help

jlawrence
January 10th, 2007, 06:01 PM
Hi all,

I am a newbie to Ubuntu. I have been trying to install two quantum computational programs, ABINIT and PWscf without success. I have followed the instructions in the manual, but got problem to run PWGUI for PWscf and abinis command for ABINIT.

PWscf:
http://www.pwscf.org/downloads/PWcodes/codes/3.2/espresso-3.2.tar.gz

ABINIT:
www.abinit.org
ftp://ftp.abinit.org/pub/abinitio/ABINIT_v5.2.4/pclinux_g95_seq-5.2.4.tar.gz

Can somebody who has experiences on installing this program kindly post his/her steps ?
Is it possible for you to have packages created for these 2 programs ?

Thank you in advance,

Panta
January 20th, 2007, 05:56 AM
Hi jlawrence,

I am also a newbie to Ubuntu and I the same problem as you. I only tried to install ABINIT and, as you can see on its websitehave, you should know your platform and processor (compiler). I am not very good on it, but I have the Ubuntu - Edgy Linux installed and my processor is a intel pentium 4. The only version of ABINIT that worked on my PC is Linux - Intel - PGI version 4.6.5. I have tried to install the recent ones, but it didn't work, but I'm happy with that one.
So, if you have a PC similar to mine, go to http://www.abinit.org/package/ and download the package containing sequential binaries:

Linux - Intel - PGI 4.6.5

then, you make

tar xvfz NameOfDownloadedFile

it will create a folder containing all you need to use Abinit... every time you use ABINIT, you have to go to this folder using a terminal...

then you follow the instructions that you have tried to follow, it should work.
If you need more help and I can do it, don't hesitate to write me. Sorry I didn't try yet to install PWscf, but I will do it soon.

Thiago

aranyakam
May 28th, 2007, 08:18 PM