PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Programmer Question

bsalt
January 10th, 2007, 06:10 AM
Hey, I am headed to be a Computer Science & Engineering major. However, I am only a sophomore and am strapped down with gen ed classes.

I already own a computer science book called Python Programming - it's an intro to programming book.

I want to try my hand at writing an app that can customize the mouse buttons to do scrolling, back/forward, etc - with a GUI. I'm currently using xev and xmodmap to get my Marble Mouse to use the extra buttons as a scroll up/scroll down function. I feel that people with a 5 button mouse or so should have the option to customize their mouse quickly and easily as well.

How hard would this task be to learn basic programming?

pmasiar
January 10th, 2007, 02:26 PM
app that can customize the mouse buttons to do scrolling, back/forward, etc - with a GUI. (...) How hard would this task be to learn basic programming?

IMHO this task is not suited to help you *basics* of programming (for some values of "basics"). You will have loads of very deep technical problems which might frustrate you unless you know what you are doing. Simpler tasks, where is more obvious *what* to do, *how* to do it, and to confirm that *result makes sense*, are better suites for beginners (for some values of "beginers"). YMMV

It's entirely possible that some required calls to mouse driver are missing from standard python libraries and you might need to create wrappers for C libraries to link them to python. Yes, if it looks scary or confusing, it worked as planned :-) If you are not afraid, or know how to do it - full speed ahead!

I maintain Learn Python wiki with links to good online books, articles about data structures, and tasks suitable for learners. Should give you couple of weeks worth of homeworks. :-)

Tomosaur
January 10th, 2007, 03:04 PM