PDA

View Full Version : Which is better: Xubuntu running Fluxbox, or Fluxbuntu?

shellhrs
January 8th, 2007, 05:17 AM
I have been using Xubuntu with Fluxbox for a few months now. It's been a continuous improvement with the help of this forum. :D

However, I feel that my system (IBM Thinkpad 600e with 96MB RAM) is not running fast enough. I guess that's because I installed Xubuntu first (I didn't know about Fluxbox or Fluxbuntu until a couple of weeks ago). Running Fluxbox as my WM is definitely faster than running XFCE, but with all the add-ons, I feel the system is slowing down, so now I'm thinking about starting a clean install.

I tried Fluxbuntu LiveCD, and I think it will run well on my system. I especially need the ability to place icons on the desktop (which I have been unable to do now). :-k

BTW, I managed to have the transparent terminal & sound running (I haven't tried playing MP3 though, Automatix failed to install the codecs because of the internet connection problem I have this last couple of weeks). I want these (and to have desktop icons) to be available in the new installation.

I am divided between installing Xubuntu and Fluxbox, or Fluxbuntu. Any suggestion?

lyceum
January 11th, 2007, 06:59 PM
I find Fluxbuntu faster than Xubuntu. It works better on older PCs.

K.Mandla
January 11th, 2007, 08:37 PM
I would vote for a clean Fluxbuntu installation. Xubuntu adds a lot you wouldn't need under Fluxbox, and I've tried the Fluxbuntu CD and been very satisfied. Give it a shot.

PriceChild
January 11th, 2007, 08:41 PM
I did a sever install and then isntalled xfce4 (NOT xubuntu-desktop) Much quicker :)

kerry_s
January 11th, 2007, 10:11 PM
I would also go custom for those specs, just decide what you want out of that old laptop and build it up to your needs. That way you get exactly what you need with out extra crap getting in the way. Something like this to start->

server/command-line install
login
sudo su
nano /etc/apt/sources.list