PDA

View Full Version : getting and installing WINE to be able to get and install E-Sword and other programs

Scott A
January 2nd, 2007, 02:43 PM
Hello all,
I am new to Ubuntu but have mangaged to install it and get on the internet. Major accomplishment for me.

A year ago I tried another version of Linux, could NOT make heads or tails of it and gave up after a couple of months of frustration.

I went to download.com hoping to find a linux version of E-sword, but no luck. (Did I miss it?)

I am trying to get and install WINE to be able to get and install E-Sword and other programs

Is wine the best way to run window programs on Linux? (only if I can't find a linux version of a program!)

Thanks in advance for any help.

Scott A
jasa711@yahoo.com

Spin Doctor
January 2nd, 2007, 03:16 PM
Hi Scott,

There is GnomeSword that you can use on your Ubuntu system. If you are running edgy, you probably want to check out the following thread:

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=1682605#post1682605

Oh yeah, and a tip for you. Never display your emailaddress in plain view on a forum (or any websites for that matter). There are robots surfing around the internet just hoping to find an emailaddress they can send spam to... Do something like this instead: jasa711 at yahoo dot com

mhancoc7
January 2nd, 2007, 03:16 PM
Hello all,
I am new to Ubuntu but have mangaged to install it and get on the internet. Major accomplishment for me.

A year ago I tried another version of Linux, could NOT make heads or tails of it and gave up after a couple of months of frustration.

I went to download.com hoping to find a linux version of E-sword, but no luck. (Did I miss it?)

I am trying to get and install WINE to be able to get and install E-Sword and other programs

Is wine the best way to run window programs on Linux? (only if I can't find a linux version of a program!)

Thanks in advance for any help.

Scott A
jasa711@yahoo.com