PDA

View Full Version : Need help in GRUB removal to upgrade dual-boot system

James King
December 20th, 2006, 09:48 PM
Hi:

I'm a relative newbie in Ubuntu with advanced glaucoma, and was a reader of messages on the AT list until hit with many other medial problems preventing me from keepiing up with the development of Edgy. I was able to upgrade my XP-Ubuntu dual-boot system from Breezy to Dapper before having to put off experiementing with Ubuntu for many months.

My problem is that I can't figure or find out how to remove GRUB from my hard disk partitioions in order to upgrade my XP programs separately from my Dapper or Edgy programs while using Norton GHOST or Drive Image XML images to move from a 30 GB hard disk to a 100 GB hard disk on the same DELL Latitude D610 laptop with an 80 GB modular hard disk. I must unmake the tie that GRUB makes betwee the XP partitioons and the Dapper partitions in order to separately upgrade images of some programs (such as the PlusTek Book Reader and the Book Courier and the Monomouse) without losing the settings of some essential legacy programs (such as ZoomText 8.0 and Dragon Naturally Speaking Pro 8.0). This is necessary to avoid the visual agony of having to reinstall any programs or settings without ZoomText, since all the on-screen instructions are in very small font sizes -- and because the Dragon voice macros depend on the ZoomText settings.

Whenever i rrestore an image of the pyramid consisting of software composed of the XP operatiing system and these key application programs (which do not yet have Linux equivalents) on a hard disk that has been re-partitioned either for a Ubuntu upgrade, a hard disk upgrade, or an XP upgrade, I get only an error message (e.g.,GRUB # 22) and/or a computer unbootable from any hard disk.