PDA

View Full Version : How to install Battlefield 1942?

Aleksandersen
December 16th, 2006, 02:31 PM
Hi,

I got a copy of Battlefield 1942 : Deluxe Edition and I would like to get it to work on Ubuntu.

How can I do this? I have never used a Windows game on Linux before, so bear with me and please explain carefully.

Thanks in advance. :)

Sandlst
December 18th, 2006, 06:05 AM
To run this game, you will need wine, which is an application that allows to run some windows games (but sadly not all....yet!). Looking at the winehq page for this game, here (http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iVersionId=4998) is not very promising; however, trying can't hurt, so I'll try to walk you through it, its not tough. First open a terminal (Applications/Accessories/Terminal) and copy and paste the following line directly:
sudo apt-get install wineThis will install wine on your computer. Next, type this line in
winecfgIn the window that opens up, click on the 'Drives' tab, highlight the one that matches the mapping /media/cdrom0, click show advanced, and make sure the 'type' drop down menu is set to CD-ROM. After this, click ok. Now, insert your cd, ubuntu should open a folder with the cd's contents. After it does, look for setup.exe or install.exe, right click it, then click 'open with other application' from the menu. At the bottom, click the arrow next to 'Use a custom command' and type in
wineAfter a bit, the game should hopefully start to install. After it is done, everything you install via wine is located in .wine/drive_c area, which looks like a normal windows structure. An easy way to goto it would be to open a terminal, and paste this in