PDA

View Full Version : HOWTO: Install Edgy 6.10 from an .iso file

john_spiral
December 10th, 2006, 02:19 PM
***ONLY USE THIS HOWTO IF YOU DON'T HAVE A WORKING CD DRIVE OR WANT TO SAVE THE TROUBLE OF BURNING A PHYSICAL DISC***

***THIS INSTALLATION METHOD WILL ONLY WORK WITH THE ALTERNATIVE ISO FILES OF UBUNTU/KUBUNTU/XUBUNTU - PLEASE CHOOSE THE RELEVANT .iso , vmlinuz & initrd.gz FILES FOR 7.04 & 7.10 ***

***SKIP STEPS 9/10 IF YOU ARE INSTALLING 7.04 & 7.10***

Hi,

Below is a micro step-by-step procedure for installing Ubuntu 6.10 from an .iso file. The below procedure might also be useful for installing Kubuntu/Edubuntu & Xubuntu.

Before I go any further I’m still relatively new to Ubuntu and would appreciate your help in refining/correcting this HOWTO and answering questions.

(1) Download the Alternative Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Edubuntu/Xubuntu .iso file and run an md5 check on it. If you are running Windows drag your .iso file onto the below program (md5sums.exe) and it will spit out a long string of characters and numbers. Make sure the string it spits out matches the published md5 sum.

http://www.pc-tools.net/files/win32/freeware/md5sums-1.2.zip

md5 sums look like the following:

549ef19097b10ac9237c08f6dc6084c6 ubuntu-6.10-alternate-i386.iso

(2) Before installing Ubuntu you will need to partition your drive. In essence you will need to boot from another media either a floppy, 2nd drive or USB key and run some type of partition software. Create one new partition for the Ubuntu installation, one to hold the .iso file & additional boot files (say 700megs). You might need to resize your existing OS to make space for the above 2 partitions.

(3) Install grub onto either a floppy or hard drive and create a similar entry in your menu.lst file:

title Install Ubuntu
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz vga=normal ramdisk_size=14972 root=/dev/rd/0 rw --
initrd /boot/initrd.gz

**(hd0,2) refers to the 1st hard drive 'hd0' and the 3rd partition '2'.