PDA

View Full Version : Name the rudest IRC experiences you've had

ubuntuman001
December 1st, 2006, 03:47 AM
just out of curiosity, what was your rudest experience on irc, and what channel it happened in. (irc.freenode.net)

as for me, i've had my worst experience in #html, and a slight annoyance on ##mac.

on #html, i was asking for some help on a css stylesheet. i didn't know how to align a website to make it more centered in the background image (i am a beginner in html somewhat). so this one guy starts telling me "yea you should learn html first." and i said " you know you don't have to reply to me if you don't want to, because i dont have the time to learn every aspect of html. i was just asking if anybody could be so kind as to help me on this small matter." or something like that. and he kicked me after a few more rebuttles. i was pissed.

on ##mac, this is more annoying than rude, i was using some AIM-type language, like "u" for "you" and "r" for "are". for some reason, and this is the only channel i've ever experienced this, using AIM language pisses people off, so to not get kicked i had to comply with typing normally, as if they can't understand what abbreviations are...

Beamerboy
December 1st, 2006, 03:52 AM
just out of curiosity, what was your rudest experience on irc, and specifically what channel it happened in. (irc.freenode.net)

as for me, i've had my worst experience in #html, and a slight annoyance on ##mac.