PDA

View Full Version : copying and pasting from emacs to firefox

styracosaurus
December 1st, 2006, 03:47 AM
So, I want to copy a block of code from a file that is open in emacs, and paste it into Firefox. What's the deal? When I select copy in the emacs edit menu, and paste in Firefox, I get the last thing I copied in Firefox...

I've noticed this elsewhere... the whole clipboard thing is sort of iffy? Is it just me? Am I a total noob and am missing something crucial?

styracosaurus
December 1st, 2006, 03:50 AM
Okay, this is embarrassing!! I tried the little "clipper" tool in the KDE taskbar... it did what I want. Although it still seems a little complicated? Does it add anything you SELECT to the clipboard?

Anyway, I'm usually not this silly! Thanks for the help! ;)

Arndt
December 1st, 2006, 10:54 AM
So, I want to copy a block of code from a file that is open in emacs, and paste it into Firefox. What's the deal? When I select copy in the emacs edit menu, and paste in Firefox, I get the last thing I copied in Firefox...

I've noticed this elsewhere... the whole clipboard thing is sort of iffy? Is it just me? Am I a total noob and am missing something crucial?

My opinion is that the whole clipboard thing _is_ sort of iffy. It started with X (the window server) providing several mechanisms for copying/pasting between programs: clipboard, cut buffers and selections (I may be calling the same thing by two different names here - I don't remember), one of them with very complicated semantics, so it was never clear exactly where a copy operation put the text or where a paste operation fetched it. Programmers have a large scope for making mistakes or design errors here.

One program that has sometimes helped me is 'xcutsel'. Other times, it has helped to paste the text into a terminal window and then copy it again.

lnostdal
December 1st, 2006, 12:42 PM