PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations

ron126
May 1st, 2005, 09:25 AM
I want to make those cool looking graphics and visual effects like in the Matrix movies or Kung Fu Hustle

What programming language should i start and what programs are used for these kinds of projects?

On the other hand the ultimate question is where do i start?

Helps are much appreciated.

defkewl
May 1st, 2005, 09:36 AM
Are you developing on KDE or Gnome?

If on KDE try QtDesigner or KDEdeveloper
On gnome go ahead with Glade

To start off, you need to learn C/C++ first :)

Good luck

ron126
May 1st, 2005, 09:52 AM
Well, im a computer newbie running ubuntu and win xp.

Can please eloborate KDE or Gnome? :smile:

toojays
May 1st, 2005, 11:10 AM
I don't really see how defkewl's post has anything to do with your original question. :(

You might need to elaborate on your question though . . . I don't know whether you want to make visual effects for a video or still image, or whether you mean you want to program them for a game or similar interactive program.

If you want to make still images or video clips, you should probably start with a visual effects program like The GIMP (http://www.gimp.org/), Blender (http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Home.2.0.html) or CinePaint (http://cinepaint.sourceforge.net/). These kinds of programs usually allow you to write scripts using a language like Scheme or Python, but you need to be familliar with the program before you start to script stuff for it.

If you want to do visual effects programming, you will need to learn programming concepts, and then learn how to do graphics programming. Probably the best way to go about that, if you are a computer newbie, is to find a good computer graphics textbook, and then learn the programming language used in the textbook.

Either way, it is going to take many hours of dedicated practice/study before you can make effects like in the Matrix. That kind of skill doesn't happen overnight.

Good luck.

ron126