PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu Forum Won't Load



Paul41
November 29th, 2006, 02:13 PM
This weekend I started having a problem where the Ubuntu forums won't load on my home computer. When I try to go to the forums it just keeps trying to load the page and eventually times out. This is the only site that I am not able to load and have never had any problem until this weekend. I didn't install anything new or make any changes. I tried to ping the site and that worked. I am at my work computer now and don't have any problems here.

I tried to clear my cache but that didn't help. I am stumped. Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be?

Paul41
December 1st, 2006, 02:02 PM
I am still having this problem and had no success in figuring out what it could be. Here is what I have tried up until now:

1. I use Firefox so I tried using Opera to see if that made a difference, but no luck.

2. I tried using Lynx to see if it was just some kind of graphical problem. The forums wouldn't load here either.

3. I have windows on VMWare so I tried that with IE and Firefox, but neither worked.

4. Tried to disable IPv6 in Firefox. This also didn't make any difference.

I have found that if I get lucky and I am willing to keep repeatadly restarting my browser I can get pages on the forums. Each time I restart the browser I get a little more of the page loaded. Just refreshing the page doesn't seam to work, I have to completely restart the browser.

I would really like to be able to get back into the forums at home. This is where I use Ubuntu so that is where I need it the most ](*,) . Also, I can't try to help other people if I can't get to the forum :) .

KiwiNZ
December 1st, 2006, 08:12 PM
Do you have a Firewall?

If so try turning it off and see if this makes a difference

Paul41
December 1st, 2006, 08:21 PM
Do you have a Firewall?

I do have a firewall. The weird thing is that I have always been able to get to the site before (even with the firewall). This is just something that started all of the sudden. I will try to turn it off though just to make sure.

Paul41
December 2nd, 2006, 12:46 AM
OK, I tried to turn the firewall and that didn't help either. Any more ideas?

KiwiNZ
December 2nd, 2006, 02:19 AM
That is truely strange, can you do a tracert and post the result ?

Paul41
December 2nd, 2006, 03:10 AM
Here is the result of the traceroute


traceroute to ubuntuforums.org (82.211.81.186), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 * * *
2 10.96.0.1 (10.96.0.1) 7.549 ms 6.677 ms 5.859 ms
3 gig2 (24.28.229.153) 6.345 ms 8.287 ms *
4 srp12 (24.28.224.172) 21.746 ms 9.597 ms 8.477 ms
5 srp0 (24.28.226.196) 12.532 ms 11.058 ms *
6 son4 (24.93.64.73) 14.009 ms 12.549 ms 11.489 ms
7 tenge (4.71.160.1) 12.963 ms tenge-1-3.car1.Raleigh1.Level3.net (4.71.160.5) 13.257 ms *
8 ae (4.69.132.174) 15.301 ms 11.697 ms 15.951 ms
9 ae (4.69.132.178) 18.143 ms 28.823 ms 18.475 ms
10 ae (4.69.132.114) 103.298 ms 104.758 ms 108.225 ms
11 ae (4.69.133.81) 99.569 ms 103.364 ms 107.602 ms
12 ae (4.69.133.94) 107.130 ms 105.418 ms *
13 ge-3-0-0-51.gar1.London2.Level3.net (4.68.117.11) 108.817 ms ge-3-0-0-53.gar1.London2.Level3.net (4.68.117.75) 99.791 ms ge (4.68.117.139) 99.413 ms
14 195.50.91.150 (195.50.91.150) 97.899 ms * ge-6-1.core-r-1.lon2.mnet.net.uk (195.50.91.134) 107.537 ms
15 * vlan102.core (62.140.218.201) 103.375 ms 101.217 ms
16 * 85.133.32.130 (85.133.32.130) 106.952 ms 107.042 ms
17 82.211.81.76 (82.211.81.76) 107.254 ms 106.797 ms 106.574 ms
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *

KiwiNZ
December 2nd, 2006, 05:03 AM
Its timing out at the very last hop

16 324 ms 323 ms 328 ms 85.133.32.130
17 330 ms 326 ms 325 ms 82.211.81.76
18 327 ms 330 ms 324 ms ubuntuforums.org [82.211.81.186]

Trace complete.

If you put the UF ip address 82.211.81.186 into the browser can you connect?

Paul41
December 3rd, 2006, 05:01 AM
Same problem when I try to use the ip. I also ran a traceroute on the ip and it times out in the same place.

ubuntu-geek
December 3rd, 2006, 06:31 AM
Just out of curiosity does it work now?

Paul41
December 3rd, 2006, 09:12 PM
Just out of curiosity does it work now?

Unfortunately no. I am still having the same problem with both the domain name and the ip both.

KiwiNZ
December 3rd, 2006, 11:26 PM
Can you please PM me the IP address for the PC in question and your service providors IP

grantw
December 4th, 2006, 01:44 AM
I'm experiencing the exact problem as described by Paul41. However, I just installed Ubuntu 6.10, so I cannot state that I've ever successfully gotten the forums pages to load in my browser on the Ubuntu box. The very bizarre (and infuriating) factor is that I can get to ubuntuforums.org on my Win XP laptop connected via the same LAN. To make this clear:

Ubuntu 6.10 is on 192.168.1.2 on my LAN. From here, I can't reach ubuntuforums.org as described by Paul41.

(I've turned off Firestarter firewall on the Ubuntu box and it makes no difference.)

WinXP is on 192.168.1.6 on my LAN. No problem reaching ubuntuforums.org. (This is the machine I'm posting from now)

I have traceroute output for both of these machines. I'll PM them to KiwiNZ along with the info he requested.

ubuntu-geek
December 4th, 2006, 02:13 AM
I'm experiencing the exact problem as described by Paul41. However, I just installed Ubuntu 6.10, so I cannot state that I've ever successfully gotten the forums pages to load in my browser on the Ubuntu box. The very bizarre (and infuriating) factor is that I can get to ubuntuforums.org on my Win XP laptop connected via the same LAN. To make this clear:

Ubuntu 6.10 is on 192.168.1.2 on my LAN. From here, I can't reach ubuntuforums.org as described by Paul41.

(I've turned off Firestarter firewall on the Ubuntu box and it makes no difference.)

WinXP is on 192.168.1.6 on my LAN. No problem reaching ubuntuforums.org. (This is the machine I'm posting from now)

I have traceroute output for both of these machines. I'll PM them to KiwiNZ along with the info he requested.
Interesting indeed... You cannot access the site via the ip address either? http://82.211.81.186

KiwiNZ
December 4th, 2006, 02:53 AM
U-G I have checked the IP's against the list of blocked IP's , no match

ubuntu-geek
December 4th, 2006, 03:51 AM
U-G I have checked the IP's against the list of blocked IP's , no match
Same here and there are no ip's hard blocked on the server..

grantw
December 5th, 2006, 04:25 AM
Tried the IP address in the browser. That doesn't work either.

Obviously my IP couldn't be blocked, since I have 2 PCs coming from the same external IP address and one (the WinXP box) can display ubuntuforums.org, but the other (the Ubuntu box) cannot. Whatever the problem is, it's on my Ubuntu box. This is really maddening - using a Windows machine on my local LAN to get info on the ubuntuforums.org page because the Ubuntu box can't view it.

I haven't encountered any other URLs that are giving me problems on Ubuntu, only ubuntuforums.org. Sometimes it will display the top banner of the forums pages, but then Firefox (or Opera, tried both, makes no difference) just churns away as if it is trying really hard to load the rest of the content. I move over to the Windows box and hit ubuntuforums.org at exactly the same time and it displays without a problem.

KiwiNZ
December 5th, 2006, 05:09 AM
Try

you can add that command to execute whenever the card comes up (without the sudo prefix, but add a pre-up or up prefix) to /etc/network/interfaces ... so it will look like this:

.
.
.
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
pre-up ifconfig eth0 mtu 1450

grantw
December 5th, 2006, 06:43 AM
That certainly seems to have done the trick, since I am posting this reply via my Ubuntu box now. Thanks very much.

Not to continue complaining, but the responsiveness of the forum page is quite slow (but I'm glad to finally be seeing it at all). Would you suggest that I drop that MTU even lower to see if it helps?

Paul41
December 5th, 2006, 01:54 PM
Try

you can add that command to execute whenever the card comes up (without the sudo prefix, but add a pre-up or up prefix) to /etc/network/interfaces ... so it will look like this:

.
.
.
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
pre-up ifconfig eth0 mtu 1450

When I tried this I lost my network connection completely. Did I do this right?

I opened /etc/network/interfaces and added the auto eth0 ... lines to the bottom of the file. When I restarted I didn't have any network connection at all.

grantw
December 5th, 2006, 06:22 PM
The first two lines were probably already in your interfaces file:

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

So you only need to add this one:

pre-up ifconfig eth0 mtu 1450

Perhaps double-check your interfaces file? I didn't have a problem.

Although this change to MTU has managed to get me into the forums on my Ubuntu browser, the performance is terrible. Sometimes the forum pages still don't load up or take forever to load. It's bizarre to me that I have to change my MTU from the default of 1500 (which is exactly what it is set to on the functioning WinXP box) to make my Ubuntu box get to ubuntuforums.org.

ubuntu-geek
December 5th, 2006, 06:40 PM
Hmm interesting you both are from NC.. What ISP's do you use?

grantw
December 5th, 2006, 07:47 PM
I'm on Time-Warner Cable Roadrunner in Raleigh.

horace
December 5th, 2006, 07:57 PM
I've had the same problem connecting to all the Ubuntu sites in this IP range and also had to use the MTU fix to get round it - but that is with a UK ISP, and no other sites were affected in my experience. Suggests to me that it may not be the ISP but something at the Ubuntu host end?

Paul41
December 5th, 2006, 08:28 PM
Adding pre-up ifconfig eth0 mtu 1450 only made it so my network connection did not die, but I am still having problems on the forum.

Even before making this change, if I am very patient and willing to keep trying to get a page to load in the forum to load it will. The problem is that it takes me about 30 minutes of trying before it happens.

I am also on Time Warner's Road Runner, but in Greensboro.

Paul41
December 7th, 2006, 02:03 PM
Does anyone have any more information on what could be going on here?

grantw
December 8th, 2006, 05:32 PM
Unfortunately I haven't heard anymore about it either Paul41, but the ubuntuforums.org page does seem to be performing better for me today. Not coincidentally, I've also noticed a problem in the past with connecting to the archive.canonical.com repository. It sometimes timeouts on this repository during an apt-get update command. I noticed that ubuntuforums.org is 82.211.81.186 and archive.canonical.com is 82.211.81.142, so I'm sure there's a connection there.

Paul41
December 8th, 2006, 11:11 PM
It seems like this problem has magically fixed itself. I don't know what changed (I didn't make any changes), but hopefully it stays fixed :) .

ubuntu-geek
December 8th, 2006, 11:14 PM
We didnt change anything on our server. My only guess would be that something in the routing tables of various isps got solved. Our servers are located in the UK, every once in awhile i notice a slow response from here in the usa but nothing major.

/shrug..

at least its working now.