PDA

View Full Version : Compiling pyGTK

YourFriendlyGopher
October 27th, 2006, 04:17 PM
Hi, this problem has been driving me crazy. I'm trying to get started with GUI programming but I can't compile pyGTK. Using ./configure on pyGTK yields:

checking for GLIB - version >= 2.8.0...
*** 'pkg-config --modversion glib-2.0' returned 2.12.3, but GLIB (2.10.3)
*** was found! If pkg-config was correct, then it is best
*** to remove the old version of GLib. You may also be able to fix the error
*** by modifying your LD_LIBRARY_PATH enviroment variable, or by editing
*** /etc/ld.so.conf. Make sure you have run ldconfig if that is
*** required on your system.
*** If pkg-config was wrong, set the environment variable PKG_CONFIG_PATH
*** to point to the correct configuration files
no
configure: error: gobject is required to build pygtk?

I'm fairly new to Linux and don't really understand how to configure libraries for compiling things. I tried to uninstall glib 2.10.3 from synaptic but it says that I'd have to remove a huge list of programs that I know shouldn't be removed. I don't know, messing around with libraries is confusing :confused:. If anyone has any ideas on what to do that'd be great, thanks.

po0f
October 27th, 2006, 09:50 PM
Is there any reason you are compiling it? It's available in the repos (http://packages.ubuntu.com/dapper/python/python-gtk2). Also, it's weird that you have glib 2.10.3 installed, but pkg-config said you have 2.12.3. Did you also compile glib from source as well?

YourFriendlyGopher
October 28th, 2006, 06:36 AM
Oh, I wasn't aware it was in the repositories.. I was looking for 'pygtk' with apt-get. To be honest I can't remember if I compiled glib from source or if I got it through an update. Eh, well at least I sort of know what I'm doing with this now, thanks for the info.

ssam
November 1st, 2006, 09:01 PM
it takes a while to get used to the package naming scheme. all the python libraries are called

python-* or python2.4-*