PDA

View Full Version : Forum Suggestion: Sticky in Absolute Beginner full of commands

JoeNobody
October 27th, 2006, 03:20 PM
I am a newbie along with many others, infact right now I am wiping out my XP laptop for Ubuntu. *crossing fingers*.

Anyway, I would like to make a suggestion for this 'Absolute Beginner Talk', have a sticky thread that contains commands. I see scattered all through the posts codes for hardware profiles, ethernet checks, automatix commands....

lets get them all in one sticky thread that is just for that. Not for questions, just posts on commands to help the newbies.

Something like -

If you have issues with your ethernet card try these:
Check hardware profile : lspci -v
List interfaces : sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces

That would be a post. Then hopefully cut down on many, many repetative posts on the same question, we can scan this thread for tips and suggestions first before we post.

Good idea, no?

Joe

compmodder26
October 27th, 2006, 03:29 PM
I agree with that.

Ionix
October 27th, 2006, 03:32 PM
Well I notice the forum is getting quite laggy, and refreshing takes quite long. Maybe we gather the ubuntu experts to write a manual on wikipedia? Well just a suggestion *lol

Mimsy
October 27th, 2006, 03:32 PM
Seconded. That would be very helpful.

/Mimsy

bulldog
October 27th, 2006, 03:33 PM
Maybe PM the topic to a moderator?

mawaru
October 27th, 2006, 03:39 PM
I am a newbie along with many others, infact right now I am wiping out my XP laptop for Ubuntu. *crossing fingers*.

Anyway, I would like to make a suggestion for this 'Absolute Beginner Talk', have a sticky thread that contains commands. I see scattered all through the posts codes for hardware profiles, ethernet checks, automatix commands....

lets get them all in one sticky thread that is just for that. Not for questions, just posts on commands to help the newbies.

Something like -

If you have issues with your ethernet card try these:
Check hardware profile : lspci -v