PDA

View Full Version : "The Beginner Community" needs renaming

PriceChild
October 15th, 2006, 05:51 PM
On the front page, "Absolute Beginner Talk" and "News & Announcements" are inside "The Beginner Community".

I think this last name needs changing as it no longer fits in with both forums it contains.

matthew
October 15th, 2006, 10:43 PM
Agreed. How about "Look Here First"? ... Okay, that name stinks. I agree something a bit more descriptive might be a good idea.

PriceChild
October 15th, 2006, 10:52 PM
Agreed. How about "Look Here First"? ... Okay, that name stinks. I agree something a bit more descriptive might be a good idea.I was gonna suggest it... but realised it stinks... and compeltely unoriginal or proffessional.

I reckon Absolute beginners should be inside Ubuntu Release Assistance (same priority as it is now, equal to "Main Support Categories".)

and "News & Announcements" made into its own Category.

Pricey

NeoLithium
October 15th, 2006, 10:56 PM
Starting Point?

PriceChild
October 16th, 2006, 12:04 AM
Starting Point?Much better :P

NeoLithium
October 16th, 2006, 12:07 AM
Well, my first thought was Welcome to the Real World ;P

John.Michael.Kane
October 16th, 2006, 12:10 AM
Would'nt just moving the News & Announcements section to the top,and leaving the beginners section intacked fit the bill.

PriceChild
October 16th, 2006, 02:34 PM
Would'nt just moving the News & Announcements section to the top,and leaving the beginners section intacked fit the bill.Yes, but the entire idea of the forum reorganisation lately was to make the front page a lot smaller... your method would mean a whole new big category.

ubuntu-geek
October 16th, 2006, 03:45 PM
The reason the news & announcements is in the area it is. Is because people actually look there. But I am open to suggestions on renaming that category from "the beginner community" to something else.

Old Pink
October 17th, 2006, 12:03 AM
How about....

First Base

*registers patent*

Kidding...

Old Pink