PDA

View Full Version : Accessing a terminal window via SSh

tobaccoman
September 16th, 2006, 08:46 AM
Good morning!

First of all please note that I'm a total beginner!

I have an application that I launch via command line (./xyz) and which gives me the results in the same terminal window

This application should and is running continuously.

Now I want to see via an SSH session whether it is working ok (from a remote PC) and restart it if required

Which command line should I type in SSH to see the same terminal window?

Thanks!

Daniel

mitch.c
September 16th, 2006, 12:52 PM
Which command line should I type in SSH to see the same terminal window?

If you just want to know if the process is running you could use ps to check the process name:

ps ax | grep programname

Now I want to see via an SSH session whether it is working ok (from a remote PC) and restart it if required
If you need to actually the program and it's output, I would suggest screen. It's a "terminal multiplexer" that will let you actually attach to a current session right where you left off. It is one of my "can't live without" programs. It is already installed in ubuntu. Here's a few handy commands:

screen #starts new session
screen -dRR #starts screen and attaches to already running session
<Ctrl>a c #creates new window... like a session within a session
<Ctrl>a p #switch to previous window
<Ctrl>a d #detach session... return to terminal, screen keeps running
I was a Gentoo user and used to start compiles in a screen window, monitor the window for silence <Ctrl>a _ (that way I knew when it was done), all while working in another screen window. It's the coolest thing.

Here's a link to a pretty good intro/tutorial: http://www.kuro5hin.org/story/2004/3/9/16838/14935

Try it!

kidders
September 16th, 2006, 12:52 PM
Hi Daniel,

Afaik that is (quite deliberately) impossible to do. There are some more indirect solutions though.

1. Use the ps command to see if your utility is still running.