PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Java Troubles

LagerDrinker
February 25th, 2013, 07:28 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forum, new to Ubuntu and basically new to the whole Linux world.

I have installed Ubuntu today after a few days of frustration with Mint and was hoping a move to Ubuntu would solve my problem, but no joy.

I am trying to access www.jmeeting.com (http://www.jmeeting.com) but the java applet is failing to load.

I started off with openjdk and the icedt plugin.

I then tried the JRE from java.com but not totally sure I followed the instruction properly, and I got more confused trying to do the symlink thing, as I say, i'm new to the whole Linux way of doing things but am going to persevere.

As I was getting in a total muddle I followed a tutorial to totally remove all Java from my pc which I think I successfully did.

I then installed open jdk 6 and the icedt plucin in again from the software centre but I still have the same problem,

After I log in there is a pause for a few seconds then a log viewer window pops up, the final line of which says Exception starting applet. ( I was going to try and post the log but cannot find out if or where it is stored)

I'm so far really pleased with my whole Ubuntu experience it's just this one thing that is giving me grief.

If anyone can help me with this before I pull out what little hair I have remaining ;-) I would be most grateful.

Thanks very much,

James

ps I am using the 64 bit version of ubuntu.

KnownSyntax
February 26th, 2013, 06:41 AM
What browser are you using and did you have it open when you install icedtea and openjdk-6-jre? If it was open the whole time then try closing it and reopening it.

I believe if you use Firefox you have to allow for Firefox to use Java in it's settings, although I haven't used Firefox in a while. For Chromium it should just work after you restart the browser or boot it up after openjdk-6-jre and the icedtea plugin install.

LagerDrinker
February 26th, 2013, 09:35 AM