PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 12.04, unibody Macbook, Nvidia drivers

A46R
February 7th, 2013, 06:55 AM
this is my first time ever putting any linux distro on my own computer. I have a late 2008 unibody MacBook (2.4 dual core)
I successfully installed and updated Ubuntu, but don’t know where or how to install my drivers. Specifically my Nvidia GeForce 9400M.

I ran some quick google search and found a page talking about modifying something called "xorg" but as you can see i have no idea what they are talking about.

This is a popular enough computer, and Ubuntu is a popular enough OS, I'm hoping someone has done this before and knows not only what i have to do, but also how i have to do it.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

ACubed10
February 7th, 2013, 07:14 AM
If you look through all your programs or do a search for "additional driver". It's a program that will tell you of available drivers for your hardware. You just click the one you want and hit activate. Done

You can get to it by going to settings for the computer. It will be listed in there

dolphin194
February 7th, 2013, 07:17 AM
If that doesn't work, then try installing the NVIDIA drivers manually. Here's a tutorial for that: http://www.techlw.com/2012/03/install-nvidia-drivers-on-ubuntu-1204.html

Also, your computer should have similar hardware to my Early 2008 MacBook Pro (non-unibody), which Ubuntu works fine on.

A46R
February 7th, 2013, 07:18 AM
If you look through all your programs or do a search for "additional driver". It's a program that will tell you of available drivers for your hardware. You just click the one you want and hit activate. Done

You can get to it by going to settings for the computer. It will be listed in there

I hate to second guess you, but a friend of mine who recently installed Ubuntu to his Asus computer said this "additional drivers" feature screwed him over.

is there a reason why this would work for me and not for him?