PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I install OpenSSL?

regency
January 30th, 2013, 02:31 PM
I'm using Ubuntu 12.10, 64-bit, English and wish to install the latest version of OpenSSL.

Could someone show me how to download and install it please?

Thanks in advance.

P.S.: Prior to posting this request, I've searched the many forums on this site and couldn't find the answers.

codemaniac
January 30th, 2013, 02:40 PM
Hi regency,

To install the OpenSSL binary toolkit, install the openssl package.

sudo apt-get install openssl

To install the OpenSSL general-purpose library, first determine the applicable version of the library available for your Ubuntu computer with the following command issued at a terminal prompt:

apt-cache search libssl | grep SSL

regency
January 30th, 2013, 03:14 PM
To install the OpenSSL general-purpose library, first determine the applicable version of the library available for your Ubuntu computer

Sorry, I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu. I've Ubuntu 12.10, 64-bit, English installed.

Could you explain what you mean by "determine the applicable version of the library for your Ubuntu computer"?

Thanks in advance.

raja.genupula
January 30th, 2013, 03:22 PM
you better read this https://help.ubuntu.com/community/OpenSSL

regency
January 30th, 2013, 03:22 PM
I surfed to http://www.openssl.org and downloaded the latest version 1.0.1c. The name of the file is openssl-1.0.1c.tar.gz and is about 4.25MB in size.

How do I install in on Ubuntu 12.10, 64-bit, English please?

Or would it be better for me to download and install OpenSSL via "sudo apt-get install"?

As always thanks in advance for your help.

omeomi
January 30th, 2013, 03:26 PM
It is easier to just use apt-get to install openssl (as you can read in raja's link).

sudo apt-get install openssl
and install the shared libraries as mentioned by codemaniac.

omeomi@omeomi:~$ apt-cache search libssl | grep SSL
libssl-dev - SSL development libraries, header files and documentation