PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 12.10 vs. BootMed

Dennis1
January 24th, 2013, 11:07 PM
Caveat: I'm a newbie to ubuntu and am running the Live CD's for Bootmed and ubuntu 12.10

I can browse my work network with Bootmed's ubuntu flavor and, when prompted for my network credentials, can provide them and access network folders. When I try to do the same thing with ubuntu 12.10 (32-bit), it will not accept my credentials. I get the same thing with ubuntu 12.10 (64-bit), but I get an additional failure to mount resources initially so I'm focusing on just getting 32-bit to work for now.

I looked at the network settings for Bootmed, which defaults to the following:
Connection Name = Auto eth0 // "Connect Automatically" is checked // "Available to all users" is checked
Wired tab: MTU = automatic
802.1x Security tab: Use 802.1x security is unchecked
IPv4 Settings tab: Method: Automatic (DHCP) & "Require IPv4 addressing" is checked
IPv6 tab: Method: Ignore

When I look at the network settings for ubuntu 12.10 (32-bit), I make the following changes to try to mimick Bootmed with the following results:

After changing the connection name and changing IPv6 to Ignore, I get an error "Sorry, Ubuntu 12.10 has experienced an internal error.
Details:
ExecutablePath:
/usr/bin/nm-connection-editor
Package
network-manager-gnome 0.9.6.2-Oubuntu6
ProblemType
crash
Title
nm-connection-editor crashed with SIGSEGV in g_type_instance_get_private()
ApportVersion
2.6.1-Oubuntu3
Architecture
i386

This is all being done from Live-DVD's on an HP Elitebook 8770w with 8GB of RAM and a 500GB drive, which normally boots to Win7 x64. Perhaps the BootMed image simply has the necessary drivers, but I can see the folders in both ubuntu distros - I just can't get my credentials to work for ubuntu 12.10. I'm guessing that since ubuntu is loaded into RAM that the write-back update should change values in RAM and not actually try to write back to the DVD-R disk, which could never be updated.