PDA

View Full Version : Specifc Questing Regarding Language Choice

tomokun
December 21st, 2012, 11:41 PM
Ok guys, so I've been through the language sticky, and I'll be honest - I'm a 0-level, never been kissed newb at programming.

Basically, I'm a writer who has decided that I want to dive into the world of programming, to see what it's like.

I've done some very basic things in Visual Basic, Basica, and HTML, but I never got very far in any specific area.

My GOAL in learning programming would be to understand network security (because it absolutely mystifies me), and to create my own applications (or at least manage the coders I would hire better). I currently manage content writers, and I do so extremely effectively because I understand writing on a fundamental level. I'd love to be able to understand programming in the same way so that I can know when I'm being reasonable and unreasonable, and so that I can look at a project mid-way and have a reasonable understanding on what has to happen next.

Yes, I expect that to learn this that it will take me quite a bit of time, and fortunately I have the time to invest.

So, the question is, in order to accomplish these goals, what is the language that I should learn first, that will help me develop good habits and insights.

Currently I started going through a C tutorial, but after reading through the sticky, I'm wondering if that's the exact wrong way to go?

Ideally, I'd like to learn a language I can actually use in the real world.

trent.josephsen
December 22nd, 2012, 12:12 AM
I normally suggest Python for people who are just starting out, but for some reason I have a good feeling about Perl for you. Partially because you self-identify as a writer, but mostly it's just a gut feeling.