PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Installing e17 and Afterstep

Iggy64
December 7th, 2012, 07:36 PM
I'm relatively new to Linux, and I have an old laptop I am using for experimentation. I gravitated to Ubuntu, and eventually to the LXDE environment. I currently am running LXDE on Ubuntu 12.04.

While I am in the experimenting mode, I thought I'd try out the Enlightenment window system (or DE?). I tried installing from this repository
ppa:hannes-janetzek/enlightenment-svn
but received a lot of error messages during the terminal session. Later, when I opened the Ubuntu Software Center, I received error messages telling me I had broken dependencies somewhere. It didn't tell me WHERE, nor did it fix them when it offered to try. Eventually, I used Synaptic to completely remove e17, and everything seems OK. However, I'm left wondering why the install didn't work. Are there some foolproof instructions for installing e17?

Moving along, I installed Afterstep by means of the Software Center. I looked in Synaptic to see if it showed up, and it is there. However, I get no option in my Sessions Manager to choose an Afterstep session. I'm probably totally misunderstanding how Afterstep substitutes for Openbox. Perhaps someone can explain, and tell me how to try out Afterstep?

Thanks!

TenPlus1
December 7th, 2012, 09:13 PM
Being relitively new to Ubuntu/Linux and in the mood for experimenting with desktop environments I'd google the one you wish to use and try to find an installation guide for Ubuntu that could help you install and configure it properly...

This link should help with the AfterStep problem:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=906990

Frogs Hair
December 7th, 2012, 11:59 PM
I have used the PPA but not with Lubuntu. The PPA worked with 11.10 and 12.04. There are E17 core packages in the Ubuntu repository but they will be older and have limited function compared to the PPA.