PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Apache var/www change on 12.04

tomjelfs
December 7th, 2012, 11:23 AM
Hi Everyone

I'm pretty new to Ubuntu and I'm tyring to move everything over on my dual booted system.

I've set up PHP and Apache to hopefully let me carry on programming my website on Ubuntu but I've hit a road block already, I can't drag and drop my files into the var/www folder. Now I've searched around and realise I don't have the privilege to edit this folder and based on that I've searched the web for how to do this but not found two solutions the same so far.

I understand that the way to do it is to give yourself root or administrative privileges and then to edit the Documentroot line in the Default file in the Sites-available folder but it wont let me save it based on my privileges.

Can anyone tell me the best root to go about doing this?

Thanks

Tom

slickymaster
December 7th, 2012, 12:04 PM
By default files under /var/www are protected. To create content under /var/www you must have root privilege.

Use the sudo command and enter your password when prompted:

sudo cp ~/index.html /var/www/index.html

Or, open your file manager with root permissions and then copy your files (replace nautilus with whatever file manager you are using):

gksudo nautilus

tomjelfs
December 7th, 2012, 02:40 PM
OK the "gksudo nautilus" , let me edit the sites-available/default config file and now I'm using a folder sat on my desktop instead, brilliant.

Next problem, I got all keen and went and dragged n dropped a folder from my XP hard drive into the new sparkly working folder but when I open these files I get Forbidden

Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /acorn2012/ on this server.

I figured out that it is because of the permission settings of all the files that I dragged across. Is there a way to change the permissions of all the files in a folder or do I have to change them individually?

Thanks again

slickymaster
December 7th, 2012, 05:08 PM