PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] cannot boot to Ubuntu after installing it using wubi

imke
December 1st, 2012, 12:51 PM
Hi all,
I'm a total newbie in such stuff, but recently I got a Samsung 100NZC with win7 starter on board and trying to install Ubuntu on it. I used Wubi, because my netbook cannot be booted from USB, and Wubi said after all the win part: lets reboot... and after that I cannot boot Ubuntu: it just stops booting on random places like "saving log messages" or "saned disabled" or somewhere else - once I even saw an Ubuntu logotype on purple screen, and more white-on-black stuff after that - and that's all. It's not freezing I believe - it reacts nice to power button, immediately starts to write about "stopping" this and that.
Googled, found recommendation to boot back in windows and check root.disk file - checked, I have one and have no idea what to do now - please help :(

Resistent
December 1st, 2012, 01:07 PM
Hi !

I am not sure, maybe you have also the problem of compression of the wubi folder..
Once I wrote this post:

I tried to install Ubuntu with the Wubi Installer.

Rebooting, I got the "Uncompression Error...System Halted" message.
The problem was: The harddisk was adjusted to "compress to save space" as I could see in Windows Explorer. (properties of harddisk). This affected also the Ubuntu folder on the harddisk. After I unchecked "compression" for the Ubuntu folder in Windows Explorer, I could restart and landed at the "Bash promt". Then I installed Ubuntu with Wubi installer again, and it worked (because Windows did not compressed the Ubuntu folder on the harddisk).

imke
December 1st, 2012, 02:33 PM
I am not sure, maybe you have also the problem of compression of the wubi folder..
I see no errors actually at any stage - it just stops booting, and that's all. But thank you :)

oldfred
December 2nd, 2012, 06:14 PM