PDA

View Full Version : Learning Python: Indicator applet

for.i.am.root
November 29th, 2012, 08:41 AM
Hi All:

So I have started teaching myself python and I figured for my first "program" I could finish something I started a few years back, an applet to display the uptime in human readable format.

By now there are probably a few somebody else has already created, however, I want to write my own. I want it to MEAN something when I check my uptime. Pride thing I guess.

I'm still learning how to code in python so it is technically a BASH script.

I'm looking to update the uptime and display as a menu item, but I'm not sure how.

If you save this in a file and run it from a terminal you will see what I am getting at. The uptime when the script was initially ran will be displayed in the terminal when you click the menu uptime, however, I can't get it to update inside the python code or the bash script itself.

Anyway, help cleaning up code (please HELP, not do it for me (i.e. references to possible solutions not the code) would be much appreciated.

Note: The first two commented lines are for adding the icon to the theme.

Thanks!

#!/bin/bash
#sudo xdg-icon-resource install --theme hicolor --novendor --size 24 /home/user/Desktop/UpTime.png
#sudo xdg-icon-resource install --theme ubuntu-mono-dark --novendor --size 24 /home/user/Desktop/UpTime.png
actualsecondsup=`cat /proc/uptime | cut -d'.' -f1-1` && tempminutes=`expr $actualsecondsup / 60` && temp1=`expr $tempminutes \* 60` && realseconds=`expr $actualsecondsup - $temp1` && realhours=`expr $tempminutes / 60` && temp2=`expr $realhours \* 60` && realminutes=`expr $tempminutes - $temp2` && export HumanUpTime=$realhours":"$realminutes":"$realseconds
python - <<END
import sys
import gtk
import appindicator
import os

class UpTime:

def __init__(self):
self.ind = appindicator.Indicator("uptime", "UpTime",appindicator.CATEGORY_APPLICATION_STATUS)
self.ind.set_status(appindicator.STATUS_ACTIVE)
self.menu_setup()