PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] adding wallpapers to system 12.10

cabz
November 25th, 2012, 03:06 AM
I have just installed 12.10 on my dell mini so far it is working very well, i have done all the tweaks i know how to do and now i'd like to try some more tweaking. since I am still new to ubuntu i wanted to ask before jumping in.
I want to add some more wallpapers to my pc but what i would like to know is how can i put my new wallpapers in the same folder as the current system ones ? i would like them to change like the current system ones do. also will ,jpgs work? and is there a size limit on the pics i can use?.
sorry if this seems like a newb question , but i am a newb at this :)

LuisGMarine
November 25th, 2012, 03:18 AM
The default location for Ubuntu 12.10 wallpapers is currently

/usr/share/backgrounds

As far as I know the only way I have been able to have the wallpapers change based on a custom folder is using this application called wallch.

You can install it through the Ubuntu Software Center by searching for "Wallch", or alternatively you can do it through the command line:

sudo apt-get install wallch

And yes .jpeg format should work, and there is no size limit.

cabz
November 25th, 2012, 03:32 AM
The default location for Ubuntu 12.10 wallpapers is currently

/usr/share/backgroundsAs far as I know the only way I have been able to have the wallpapers change based on a custom folder is using this application called wallch.

You can install it through the Ubuntu Software Center by searching for "Wallch", or alternatively you can do it through the command line:

sudo apt-get install wallchAnd yes .jpeg format should work, and there is no size limit.
thanks for the reply, I was hopeing that by putting the new wallpapers in the same folder so they show up in the standard ubuntu wallpaper folder list would allow them to show up and change with the system setting of "changes througout the day" .if not at least they will all show up in the same folder .