PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Wireless not connecting/staying connected

irakresh
November 21st, 2012, 05:56 PM
I am totally new to Ubuntu so I wasn't sure whether to post this here or under the Wireless forum. In any event, I have a new Zbox computer. We have wireless (DSL) at our home. It's working fine on our windows computers and the connection works fine with the Zbox when I run a wired connection.

But, when I try to connect the Zbox to the wireless, it won't connect and it continually asks for the passphrase. I have entered it several times (and checked to make sure it was right), but still nothing. I have checked to make sure the connection is available to all users, but that's about all I know to do.

Please tell me what information I need to provide to troubleshoot. Our router is a Netgear N300 Wireless Router and the firmware is up to date.

Wild Man
November 21st, 2012, 06:18 PM
Hi, copy and paste this command in the terminal (ctrl+alt+t) please:

wget -N -t 5 -T 10 http://dl.dropbox.com/u/57264241/wireless_script && chmod +x wireless_script && ./wireless_script
It will download a script and create a text file in your home folder with wireless information so we can see the condition of your wireless at this time and the Mac address, WPA key and WEP key are removed for your security, then reply back and attach the netinfo.txt file.
Thanks

irakresh
November 21st, 2012, 08:51 PM
I think I successfully attached the netinfo file. Please let me know if I am missing something.

Wild Man
November 21st, 2012, 09:11 PM
Hi, the bottom half of the output from the file is missing but go ahead and try this:

echo "options rt2800pci nohwcrypt=1" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/rt2800pci.conf
sudo modprobe -rfv rt2800pci
sudo modprobe -v rt2800pci

Also signal strength is at 50 percent which is low for ubuntu to connect too.
Thanks

irakresh
November 21st, 2012, 09:29 PM