PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 12.04 wont boot after manual shut down (dual boot with windows, no wubi)

Bweytjens
November 20th, 2012, 04:35 PM
Hi all. I am new to this forum and an absolute beginner. Since yesterday I have this problem that I cant boot ubuntu anymore. It happened because of a manual shut down after the laptop froze up while performing heavy calculations (runnig a problog program). Please help...

PROBLEM STATEMENT

The exact error is in the attached picture. In case it is not readable it states the following:

mount: mounting /sys on /root/sys failed: no such file or directory
mount: mounting /proc on /root/proc failed: no such file or directory
Target filesystem doesnt have requested /sbin/init.
No init found. Try passing init= bootarg.

SOLUTIONS THAT DID NOT WORK (always booted from ubuntu live CD using a bootable USB device)

I allready tried a handfull of solutions that did not work:

- sudo fsck /dev/sda5 => Did not work because it stated that sda 5 was not found. Whenever I try sudo fdisk -l it also only shows sdb1 (which is the USB device used for booting) but not a single partition from sda.

-Boot-repair. Succesfully downloaded the Boot-repair program and ran it. It then stated it had fixed some booting problems but ubuntu still has the same problem.

-rescue remix: Used sudo swapoff -a
sudo parted /dev/sda
rescue START 1 END 6 (since I have 6 partitions on my sda). Did not work because it says it cannot identify sda.

-Gpart: Used gpart /dev/sda. It then already stated it could not find sda(either)

-Ubuntu disk utility: From dash=> Disk Utility I can see my sda partitions but they seem to be inactive since I cannot change their lables, nor scan them

-chkdsk from windows 7. Scanned my c drive from here but this didnt solve the problem either.

ADDITIONAL INFO