PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wirtelss Connections

briscoashe2845
November 19th, 2012, 06:36 PM
That should be Wireless Connections....Hi. I have loaded Ubuntu onto a new hard-drive ( I am logged in on my old one ). I have a Belkin wireless USB receiver. And a UPC wireless modem. The UsB is connected and is recognized on Ubuntu...But Ubuntu will not find any wireless networks???.....UPC use WAP security, if that is of any baring???...........Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Please bare in mind, i have never used Ubuntu before & i am a VERY basic Desk top user,so "Idiot" terminology would would be useful if that suits........Thank you.

dannyboy79
November 19th, 2012, 06:58 PM
open a terminal session within your ubuntu install and issue the following command and then tell us what it outputted back to you

lshw -C network

briscoashe2845
November 19th, 2012, 07:49 PM
There's a ton of stuff. I can't copy and paste because i have to keep changing hard drives...It says i should run it as a "super user" ....A separate window did open up with the Modem name asking for authentication . I put in the correct password. The box disappears for like 30 seconds and comes back asking again.
Description : wireless interface
Physical : is 2
Bus info : usb@1.3
Logical : Wlan@

dannyboy79
November 19th, 2012, 09:46 PM
what does this command show, the last command I asked for didn't show me what wifi chipset your usb card uses.

sudo lspci

I am first trying to determine if the kernel is auto loading the driver for your usb wifi card.

I notice you say that a password box appears, are you saying it's asking for your WPA password?

briscoashe2845
November 19th, 2012, 10:02 PM