PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Advice about a few things

Azuma
November 18th, 2012, 09:19 PM
Hi everyone, complete newb with Linux here :)
Just wanted some advice on certain things about Ubuntu, I will be moving over to arch after I finish learning more about Linux but until then I need to make the best of Ubuntu.
So basically I would like to know the following:

Any programmes I should install ( Already have wine )
Any commands I should know
Anything I should learn to improve my knowledge of Linux

If anyone would like to suggest things please go ahead, will learn anything and everything I possibly can :P
Thanks in advance.
Azuma

mlentink
November 18th, 2012, 09:40 PM
Could you perhaps narrow things down a bit by explaining what you want to achieve, what you would like to do? System administration? Programming?

As to commands, take a look at linuxcommand.org

Azuma
November 18th, 2012, 09:46 PM
Not trying to achieve anything really, just moved from windows to Linux and I am trying to learn as much as possible about Linux, maybe then I may try to " achieve " something.
Who knows, I literally installed Linux because I like the feel of it, oh and without gates running Microsoft I don't exactly feel safe, who knows what they are doing with our information now. :P

MG&TL
November 18th, 2012, 09:56 PM
Applications: wait until you need to do something. Then look to see if you already have it. Then look in the software centre to see if you can get it easily. Then do a bit of googling to see if you can find instructions or download. Then ask here. :)

Commands: depends whether you like working with a textual prompt or not. Personally, it's a lot faster and more efficient for certain tasks, and I love my shell to bits. If you do decide you want to learn the linux shell (it's very extensive), there's a list of resources here to get you started (!) : https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CommandLineResources