PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Have been trying for hours, any help for aircrack? I've tried EVERYTHING

Abyssal Whim
November 18th, 2012, 10:52 AM
Ok, so like the title says, I've been having a LOT of issues trying install aircrack-ng. I'm also having issues installing...well, anything. But that's a separate thread anyways.

Ok, so first off, I am new to the whole ubuntu scene. Or, to be more accurate, the linux scene. I've read numerous other threads, and tried following the directions of others who are ill fated with the same problem. What I have tried:

"sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install libssl-dev
wget http://download.aircrack-ng.org/aircrack-ng-1.1.tar.gz
tar -zxvf aircrack-ng-1.1.tar.gz
cd aircrack-ng-1.1

In the aircrack-ng-1.1 directory there is a file called common.mak, use your favorite editor to open the file and scroll down till you see the following line:

CFLAGS ?= -g -W -Wall -Werror -O3

Delete the -Werror variable, so that the line now looks like the following. Save and exit.

CFLAGS ?= -g -W -Wall -O3

Run make and make install to get aircrack-ng up and running.

try :
sudo make

and then :
sudo make install"

But every time I do so, I get an error:

"
Run 'airodump-ng-oui-update' as root (or with sudo) to install or update Airodump-ng OUI file (Internet connection required)."

How do I get past this? I'm sure it's probably something I've overlooked, or something, but any help would be MUCH appreciated at this point.

Note: Just using it to further my own knowledge.

MG&TL
November 18th, 2012, 11:26 AM
Is there a good reason for you to compile aircrack?

If not:

sudo apt-get install aircrack-ng

GreatDanton
November 18th, 2012, 11:30 AM
I think it's called aircrack-ng

You can also install it via Software center.

Abyssal Whim
November 18th, 2012, 11:30 AM
I thought that'd work originally, but when I do try that, I get this:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done