PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] One month with Ubuntu and all NOT SO well..

yiftah
November 18th, 2012, 09:07 AM
Hello

I am an absolute newby to Ubuntu. I installed 12.10 as soon as it came out.
I gave myself some learning time but still have a lot of problems.

To begin with - Ubuntu starts... SOMETIMES. and sometimes it does not.

Description
I use a new Samsung 305E with AMD quad core.
I have Ubuntu installed side by side with Windows 7.

When I turn the computer on I get the GRUB screen. and then ubuntu starts - OR it does not.. (about 50% of the times !!).
When it does not - I get a blank screen. Sometimes I hear the sound that usually comes with the "enter password".. but still evertything is blank.
The only way out is turning the computer off (hardware turn off - never a good idea but no choice). and hope that next time it works. (it happened that I needed to repeat that 3-4 times).

I tried to update Grub. to no avail

Add that to the fact that under Ubuntu the computer does not wake up from "suspend" mode - and it means that every time I have to actually turn the computer off completetly.

coffeecat
November 18th, 2012, 09:23 AM
When it does not - I get a blank screen. Sometimes I hear the sound that usually comes with the "enter password".. but still evertything is blank.

That sounds like a LCD panel issue. I get the same with a BenQ monitor (but not with several other makes of monitor I have tried) which puts itself to sleep just before the login screen and I have to press the auto button to wake it up again. Since you hear the login sound, Ubuntu is clearly booting up and still working but the video signal has gone awol. Quite how you deal with this on a laptop, I don't know. Perhaps someone with experience of Samsung laptops would know. Are there any special function keys or buttons that affect the display on your laptop?

Impavidus
November 18th, 2012, 12:43 PM