PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] GNOME panel



graabein
November 8th, 2012, 10:36 PM
Hey, just got an idea, someone's probably thought of this earlier, but I'd like to see GNOME use the screen more wisely.

On widescreen running fullscreen apps there's a lot of space that gets tossed away having the panel, the application window title, and the application menu on top of each other. If you look horizontally there's a lot of available space.

Why not collapse the window title to the application icon already visible on GNOME panel? It's a clicker now, so just add window options for un-maximize, minimize etc. Then hide the GNOME clock again on GNOME panel, and put the application menu there, from the application icon and across the screen towards the notification area.

This way you save almost 50 px on the height.

Or should I just get cracking and get xmonad running again?

jbicha
November 9th, 2012, 01:49 AM
Oh you mean like how Documents, Epiphany, etc. handles full-screen windows?

http://imgur.com/9kY6r

jfernyhough
November 9th, 2012, 02:04 AM
IIRC there's also the Maximus extension.

serdotlinecho
November 9th, 2012, 02:24 AM
On netbook, unity is much better with screen space...can i have window dogde unity launcher behaviour back on ubuRR?

graabein
November 10th, 2012, 01:11 PM
Yes, something like maximus (https://bitbucket.org/mathematicalcoffee/maximus-gnome-shell-extension) -- good find, I'll try it -- but also take the application menu and move it to GNOME panel next to Terminal icon, if you look at the screenshot in the link. I don't know how easy it is to fix this, but like serdotlinecho says, Unity sort of does this.

The maximus extension is pretty sweet. I also installed window options (https://bitbucket.org/mathematicalcoffee/window-options-gnome-shell-extension). Good stuff!

kuvanito
November 10th, 2012, 03:37 PM
Hey, just got an idea, someone's probably thought of this earlier
i also have an idea for 13.04
like graabein said,maybe some one thought of this earlier but still it's a wish i have for Unity
i like Unity but would like to see that when i click the Dash Home only to display all installed apps
if you need to find something else use the Search Bar.i hate to be clicking on lenses and then expand the apps to find the app i am looking for and i don't want to type it on the search bar when i know where it is.this takes time away from you.
these lenses are hateful for me,the search bar is great.