PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Mac laptop

offgridguy
November 6th, 2012, 05:18 AM
Hello Apple users; I am considering a new laptop and would like to try a mac.I have no experience with apple but the reputation is good, I realize they are not cheap, size is not critical, as
it's not going to be taken anywhere very often. Besides the basics, I use a computer for photo editing and management. I have
been told apple is the best for programs with lots of graphics.
Any suggestions on model, etc.?:)

2F4U
November 6th, 2012, 07:50 AM
Should it be a laptop or a desktop? Technically, there is not much difference, because Apple desktops (aside from the PowerMac) uses notebook technology. But you get a large screen with the iMacs.

offgridguy
November 6th, 2012, 03:54 PM
Should it be a laptop or a desktop? Technically, there is not much difference, because Apple desktops (aside from the PowerMac) uses notebook technology. But you get a large screen with the iMacs.

I would love to have a desktop, with a large high resolution screen, remote keyboard along with the tons of memory and ram.
However I am in a unique situation, as my username suggests we live off-grid
and power our home entirely on solar power. Hence power consumption is
always a concern, especially in the winter season when days are short, sky's are
cloudy or snowy, and electrical usage increases with more lights, etc.
During the summer months we have abundance of energy and could easily
use a desktop computer, but we couldn't use it year round, so we get by with
laptops, because when can use one year round due to the lesser power
requirements.
I have considered a remote monitor, connected to the laptop for the summer months, actually about 8-9 months are no worry, only Nov.,Dec.,Jan.
Monitors of course being the major power consumer of a computer system.
A rather long reply to your question ,I know, but thanks for asking. :)

Lars Noodén
November 6th, 2012, 04:42 PM