PDA

View Full Version : How do I use repositories to find software?

audax321
March 18th, 2005, 07:54 PM
Hello,

Let me start off by saying that I've been using SuSE for two years and have never used APT for anything. I just installed warty on my laptop and was very impressed by the OS itself, but APT is driving me insane. With SuSE it was possible to add a few sources (from SuSE as well as other users who built their own RPMs for SuSE) in YaST and then practically upgrade your entire computer (e.g. SuSE provides KDE and Gnome upgrades) and find up-to-date RPMs for practically anything using search engines like http://rpm.pbone.net.

In Ubuntu (I'll be installing Kubuntu 5.04-Preview later today) it seems like the software is older and I have no clue how to search for repositories that contain the software that I want to install. For example, I was trying to install something yesterday (don't remember what it was though) and I couldn't because one package that it depended on was out of date on the server. I keep seeing people using Debian repositories, but at the same time Ubuntu says that this is bad (which makes sense). But where else should I get the software from? Is there a Ubuntu software search engine that will find repositories that contain the software I need? Just searching google for repositories seems kind of time consuming.

If I can just get used to installing software from APT, I might finally have a reason to scrap my SuSE installation for something more streamlined like Ubuntu.

Thanks for any help. ](*,)

bored2k
March 18th, 2005, 07:58 PM
System Admin > Synaptic [upper panel]

There click settings > repositories > settings > show disabled > checkmark on everyone disables > then clic add > check everything there .

Save, it will reload sources, and you got thousands of apps to install here .