PDA

View Full Version : From Windows to Ubuntu (Linux)

iamaaron
October 10th, 2012, 09:47 PM
Hello all,

I am a die-hard Windows fan-boy and am thinking about moving from Windows to Ubuntu... There's only one problem. I am a website developer/designer.

So I have to have the following programs:
Adobe Creative Suite 6
Microsoft Office
Developer tools, etc.

How does the above work on Ubuntu?

Thanks,
Aaron!

DuckHook
October 10th, 2012, 10:15 PM
In my experience, self-described die-hard Windows fan-boys don't ever become happy with Linux. I'm not trying to discourage you; just alert you to the realities.

I've been using Windows since the days of 3.0. Linux since 1997. I've seen, implemented and instigated lots of Linux migrations, both gratifyingly successful and painfully unsuccessful.

Notwithstanding what you hear from the camp of the Linux fan-boys, it is not an easy transition. There are fundamental cultural differences between the two OSes; practices that each side takes for granted but that don't even exist on the other side. In fact, there are too many to mention in an absolute beginners' forum. Perhaps a discussion for The Community Cafe forum. As only one example, out of the tools that you cite, only Developer Tools have similar equivalents in the Linux community. Neither ACS nor MO run in Linux. And these are just apps--not even the basic cultural stuff I was referring to.

In my experience, the single biggest determinant for success is the open-mindedness of the person seeking to make the change. Fan-boys rarely qualify. It is possible that you mischaracterize yourself as a fan-boy. If so, then the change is not only possible but auspicious. However, if you are truly a Windows fan-boy, then my best advice is to stick with Windows. Become a Windows guru, which is no small feat, and continue to increase your productivity within the OS that you love.

Linux_junkie
October 10th, 2012, 10:37 PM