PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] C++ help

Abimael09
September 27th, 2012, 10:11 PM
So I ran g++ and then ran ./a.out, but somethings not right, Im learning C++, but this is my first time using Linux while programming

I prefer using Text Editor over IDE's

Any help?

spjackson
September 27th, 2012, 10:35 PM
What do you mean by "somethings not right"?

It looks right to me. The program has compiled successfully, it has run correctly and done what you told it to. You might want a newline after your second line of output, in which case you need to add that to your program.

Abimael09
September 27th, 2012, 10:42 PM
What do you mean by "somethings not right"?

It looks right to me. The program has compiled successfully, it has run correctly and done what you told it to. You might want a newline after your second line of output, in which case you need to add that to your program.

Nvm, i See it, simple noob mistake

Niemand000
September 28th, 2012, 05:27 PM
I'm trying to learn C++ too, but am having trouble trying to find a g++ compiler? Probably the dumbest question you've all heard so far. I thought Ubuntu 12.04 came with one already? And how are you saving those files as .cpp. When I "touch 1program" it creates a file that has no ending? Simply ~/Document/"C++ Programs"/1program

MG&TL
September 28th, 2012, 05:38 PM
I'm trying to learn C++ too

Yay!

but am having trouble trying to find a g++ compiler?

You need to install the build-essential and g++ packages.

Probably the dumbest question you've all heard so far.

Believe me, I've heard worse. ;)

I thought Ubuntu 12.04 came with one already?

Nope, Ubuntu is aimed at laypeople, and most laypeople don't program.

And how are you saving those files as .cpp.