PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Weird, ubuntu not working. Please help.



Dermoid
September 27th, 2012, 06:17 PM
This happend to me 3 times while i was trying to install it. I downloaded the iso and wubi and i run wubi and installed it, restarted, booted into ubuntu and this happend.

QIII
September 27th, 2012, 06:28 PM
Holy thumbnails, Batman!

Even at 4G LTE, I had to stop the load.

Dermoid
September 27th, 2012, 06:46 PM
Holy thumbnails, Batman!

Even at 4G LTE, I had to stop the load.

Sorry, ill fix it now.

Sef
September 27th, 2012, 06:59 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by QIII
Holy thumbnails, Batman!

Even at 4G LTE, I had to stop the load.
Sorry, ill fix it now.

Fixed now.



This happend to me 3 times while i was trying to install it. I downloaded the iso and wubi and i run wubi and installed it, restarted, booted into ubuntu and this happend.

Wubi is only for installing inside Windows, or did you download Wubi and installed it from there?

critin
September 27th, 2012, 11:11 PM
I see the desktop of ubuntu. What is the error?

Dermoid
September 28th, 2012, 05:37 AM
I see the desktop of ubuntu. What is the error?

There is no siderbar, i cannot right click, click. I cannot click the wifi,keyboard or the shutdown.

Dermoid
September 29th, 2012, 04:24 PM
Please help me. I really want to get ubuntu.

darkod
September 29th, 2012, 04:37 PM
How about burning a cd from the ISO first and trying it in live mode (Try Ubuntu)? See how it works first before you even try installing.

Are the images from live mode or you already installed? Or this is what the installer shows which means you couldn't proceed with the install even if you wanted to?

Dermoid
September 30th, 2012, 05:32 AM
How about burning a cd from the ISO first and trying it in live mode (Try Ubuntu)? See how it works first before you even try installing.

Are the images from live mode or you already installed? Or this is what the installer shows which means you couldn't proceed with the install even if you wanted to?

I tried the live-cd it was the same thing. When i installed it and booted this was all it showed.. :confused:

darkod
September 30th, 2012, 10:10 AM
Have you tried downloading another ISO in case this one got corrupted? I prefer using torrent since it checks for corruption during download.

Also when burning the cd use very low speed, like 8x or 10x. It minimizes errors on the cd.

Dermoid
September 30th, 2012, 03:24 PM
Have you tried downloading another ISO in case this one got corrupted? I prefer using torrent since it checks for corruption during download.

Also when burning the cd use very low speed, like 8x or 10x. It minimizes errors on the cd.

Yes, i torrented it aswell, and i'll try another version of ubuntu. I tried the 32 bit and the 64 bit.

critin
September 30th, 2012, 06:30 PM
I downloaded the iso and wubi and i run wubi and installed it, restarted, booted into ubuntu and this happend.

You chose wubi from ubuntu.com? Did you read the instructions on the page first just to familiarize yourself?

I'm not sure just how you downloaded and installed the actual os. Did you download the iso separate from Wubi? First the iso and then wubi? That's what it sounds like from your statement.

When you download Wubi, it downloads and installs the iso, you don't. So getting it from torrents isn't necessary--you're getting it from Wubi. It's a one-step process in IE if you chose RUN on ubuntu's page.

In FF it's two steps. You have to 1: SAVE wubi, then 2: Open wubi from saved download page and RUN to download the iso. You don't download the iso yourself in either case.

darkod
September 30th, 2012, 06:41 PM
You chose wubi from ubuntu.com? Did you read the instructions on the page first just to familiarize yourself?

I'm not sure just how you downloaded and installed the actual os. Did you download the iso separate from Wubi? First the iso and then wubi? That's what it sounds like from your statement.

When you download Wubi, it downloads and installs the iso, you don't. So getting it from torrents isn't necessary--you're getting it from Wubi. It's a one-step process in IE if you chose RUN on ubuntu's page.

In FF it's two steps. You have to 1: SAVE wubi, then 2: Open wubi from download page and RUN to download the iso. You don't download the iso yourself in either case.


Not exactly. Even if you want to install wubi, you can still download the ISO, put in the same folder with the wubi.exe and in that case when you start the exe it will use the ISO instead of downloading. You can do that if you prefer. But they have to be the same exact version for that to work.

In any case, personally I don't recommend using wubi. A proper dual boot is much better and with less problems.

Since the OP said the same problem shows in live mode too, I assumed he has a cd burned from the ISO too.

critin
September 30th, 2012, 08:57 PM
Not exactly. Even if you want to install wubi, you can still download the ISO, put in the same folder with the wubi.exe and in that case when you start the exe it will use the ISO instead of downloading. You can do that if you prefer. But they have to be the same exact version for that to work.

In any case, personally I don't recommend using wubi. A proper dual boot is much better and with less problems.

Since the OP said the same problem shows in live mode too, I assumed he has a cd burned from the ISO too.

Thanks for the correction. I'm speaking of the wubi installer, not the exe. With the istaller, it does everything. I know you can install with exe and separate iso, but OP didn't specify which he'd done. And why would anyone choose that route when the installer is built to do it all for them? It makes no sense to me. It is so much easier on newbies to use wubi all the way through and since they did choose wubi in the first place, I'd think they wanted 'easy'.

You're right, if they intend to download the iso separately, they may as well go ahead and do the proper dual boot if they can. Then they come in because one or the other OS won't boot and they blame ubuntu.

As a test before replying to this post, ( just to see if there were changes from the way I remembered it from years ago) I installed Wubi today on a Win8 dual with XP. It downloaded and installed in 20 minutes. Restarted and all looks and runs just like it's supposed to. No issues with booting. I did nothing but click RUN and fill in user name/password. So, I don't understand how there can possibly be 'less problems'.

It's especially created for absolute newbies to be the absolute safest, simplest, easiest way to learn to use ubuntu, and it is if it's used according to instructions. I can personally recommend Wubi because it brought me a smooth introduction to ubuntu.

Wubi is a wonderful way to learn ubuntu and I don't think it gets the credit it deserves.



personally I don't recommend using wubiYou've personally had a bad experience with it?

cwsnyder
September 30th, 2012, 09:20 PM
Alternatively, if you have the .ISO burned to a Live CD and put the CD in while in Windows, you can normally select WUBI from the auto-run menu and install in that fashion.

critin
September 30th, 2012, 09:49 PM
Alternatively, if you have the .ISO burned to a Live CD and put the CD in while in Windows, you can normally select WUBI from the auto-run menu and install in that fashion.

I didn't know that!! wow...

Dermoid
October 3rd, 2012, 07:10 PM
I didn't know that!! wow...

My friend uses ubuntu, and he told me to download the iso and then open wubi and install it. But i'll just try opening wubi without downloading the iso.

Dermoid
October 4th, 2012, 06:54 AM
I booted into ubuntu, but same thing happened. I could click or right click anything, not even to login.

Dermoid
October 5th, 2012, 08:43 AM
Please help me someone.](*,)

darkod
October 5th, 2012, 09:03 AM
Just to clarify things, you did try whether live mode will run? I am talking about booting with the cd and selecting Try Ubuntu. Not about installing, forget installing.

Does it do the same running from the cd?

What video card do you have?

Dermoid
October 6th, 2012, 01:34 PM
Just to clarify things, you did try whether live mode will run? I am talking about booting with the cd and selecting Try Ubuntu. Not about installing, forget installing.

Does it do the same running from the cd?

What video card do you have?
Here are my computer specs.
http://gyazo.com/ebe3da2e79d12f8ea33138b6b52a9640.png?1347015283

I tried doing the live CD same thing happend.

darkod
October 6th, 2012, 02:17 PM
With nvidia it often helps to use the nomodeset boot parameter.

You have more details how to use it when you try live mode and how to boot the first time with it after install here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=10069997&postcount=1

Dermoid
October 6th, 2012, 04:29 PM
With nvidia it often helps to use the nomodeset boot parameter.

You have more details how to use it when you try live mode and how to boot the first time with it after install here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=10069997&postcount=1
Last time i tried LiveCD it just booted straight into the desktop..

darkod
October 6th, 2012, 04:37 PM
But did it work correctly or not? You said live mode doesn't work either.

And if you don't tell the cd to boot with nomodeset, it won't. You have to do it and that link has the procedure.

During booting with the cd hit the Esc key on the very first purple screen you see. That should bring out the older type Main Menu.

Hit F6 for advanced options. Select nomodeset.

Go into the main menu and select Try Ubuntu.

Does it load the live desktop correctly, with the unity bar and everything working?

Dermoid
October 6th, 2012, 05:01 PM
But did it work correctly or not? You said live mode doesn't work either.

And if you don't tell the cd to boot with nomodeset, it won't. You have to do it and that link has the procedure.

During booting with the cd hit the Esc key on the very first purple screen you see. That should bring out the older type Main Menu.

Hit F6 for advanced options. Select nomodeset.

Go into the main menu and select Try Ubuntu.

Does it load the live desktop correctly, with the unity bar and everything working?

Oh thank you so much, i'll try it now.

Dermoid
October 11th, 2012, 09:01 AM
But did it work correctly or not? You said live mode doesn't work either.

And if you don't tell the cd to boot with nomodeset, it won't. You have to do it and that link has the procedure.

During booting with the cd hit the Esc key on the very first purple screen you see. That should bring out the older type Main Menu.

Hit F6 for advanced options. Select nomodeset.

Go into the main menu and select Try Ubuntu.

Does it load the live desktop correctly, with the unity bar and everything working?

I tried it, but it didnt give me the try ubuntu live, just install ubuntu and some other stuff.

darkod
October 11th, 2012, 09:08 AM
Then you have a bad cd or a bad iso file. The standard live cd always has the Try ubuntu option, that's the point of it.