PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Login to Gnome via SSH

SeMeidl
September 22nd, 2012, 01:55 PM
Hey

I'm new to Linux and to this forum so I hope I got the category right. I know that I have to learn a lot in order to aministrate a linux server, but for doing that, I first need a secure and stabel way of accessing my system. My problem is the following:
I managed to set up an SSH tunnel for a VNC connection from my windows machine to my ubuntu 12.04 server using the following guides:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SSH
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VNC

The problem is that I can only connect if I'm already logged in to gnome, similar to here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1544847

But the given solutions don't work for me. I was wondering if this is due to the fact that I got my home directory encrypted?
I'm using x11vnc as well and when I enter
x11vnc -safer -localhost -nopw -once -display :0 as stated in the above guide, I get

22/09/2012 14:51:14 -safer mode:
22/09/2012 14:51:14 vnc_connect=0
22/09/2012 14:51:14 accept_remote_cmds=0
22/09/2012 14:51:14 safe_remote_only=1
22/09/2012 14:51:14 launch_gui=0
22/09/2012 14:51:14 x11vnc version: 0.9.12 lastmod: 2010-09-09 pid: 2802
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
22/09/2012 14:51:14 XOpenDisplay(":0") failed.
22/09/2012 14:51:14 Trying again with XAUTHLOCALHOSTNAME=localhost ...
No protocol specified
No protocol specified

22/09/2012 14:51:14 ***************************************
22/09/2012 14:51:14 *** XOpenDisplay failed (:0)

*** x11vnc was unable to open the X DISPLAY: ":0", it cannot continue.
*** There may be "Xlib:" error messages above with details about the failure.

I appreaciate any form of help!

Thanks

steeldriver
September 22nd, 2012, 02:41 PM
Try pointing it at the root Xauthority file - for lightdm that would be something like

sudo x11vnc -auth /var/lib/lightdm/.Xauthority -localhost -safer -nopw -once -display :0