PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] server help

FatPaulie
August 30th, 2012, 07:47 PM
Hello

First of all I must tell you that I'm new with all this stuff, but I try to learn as much as possible..
So here's the thing. The goal was to setup a preview Wordpress blog for a firend of mine. I installed xubunut, than installed apache2, than php5 and mysql and in the end Wordpress. So now Wordpress is working fine when when I tyoe localhost/wordpress in browser.
But when I tried to reach the blog from an outside connection it gets blocked since my ISP block port 80 on the inside. So by reading further I learn that I should change port in Apache2 configuration. I access the config file and after "Listen 80" line add "Listen 1234". After saving accesing through 80 works, but through 1234 does not. I've tried on default apache index.html file and I get
"Not Found
The requested URL / was not found on this server.
Apache/2.2.22 (Ubuntu) Server at localhost Port 1234" message.

I also forwarded ports on my Netgear router on the correct IP, which happens to be 192.168.1.4, but when accessing localhost:1234 I still get the same message.

I would be glad if someone helps me with this or explaining me how to change ports and became visible from outside connections.

darkod
August 30th, 2012, 09:28 PM
The port forwarding on the router should have an option to use different public and private ports, so that would probably be the easiest way.

For example, set the port forwarding to forward port 8080 to 192.168.1.4 port 80 (where your apache is listening to).

But from the outside you would need to enter with something like xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 or xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080/wordpress

The point is the connection to arrive on 8080 (hopefully the ISP is not blocking that) and the router to divert it to 80.

FatPaulie
August 30th, 2012, 09:51 PM