PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install Gnome in Ubuntu 10.04 LTS server

aman pal
August 29th, 2012, 02:38 AM
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the Linux Ubuntu server configuration and after researching for a way of installing a visual package like Gnome, Kde i got into a deadend. I've tried to use and install some of this packages but somehow something is not going right.

i've used the followings commands and install the different three packages but after rebooting the server, i still get the command line visual like "MS-DODS"

sudo apt-get ubuntu-desktop

sudo apt-get xubuntu-desktop

sudo apt-get kubuntu-desktop

Can anyone help me by giving me some kind of guide or an ideia of what could be wrong... Thank you

Best regards

wojox
August 29th, 2012, 02:53 AM
startx
Do anything? Did you install the Desktop and reboot after each one?

aman pal
August 29th, 2012, 03:07 AM
yes by using startx it fails to initiate... Basically the errors are "screen found, but none have a usable configuration" and below "Fatal Server Error, no screens found", below "xinit:no such file or...:unable to connect to X server" and "xinit:No such process (errno 3) : Server error... I've rebooted the server after each try/installation

wojox
August 29th, 2012, 03:17 AM
Looks like your video driver. Nvidia?
I would download a fresh Ubuntu 10.04 Desktop iso and install that if you want a GUI.

aman pal
August 29th, 2012, 03:23 AM
The ubuntu server is installed by the provider! Ubuntu 10.04 LTS server! The rest is up to the client... so it's not a choice. Could it be the screen configuration and how to configure it? Maybe formating and instaling Ubuntu server again? Kind out of ideas here...

cariboo907
August 29th, 2012, 06:30 AM